Server Error - 103

Posted by: scotiadallas

Server Error - 103 - 10/09/07 05:13 PM

Hello,

I'm using Now Contact 5.3.1 (Mac OSX) with a Now Server Manager 5.2 and 3 users, all on Macs.

When one user is deleting keywords on a contact they often get "Unable to Verify Server Password Error - 103" When this comes up usually the changes the user has made do not get translated to the server, the others don't get the info and (I think) the work that they have done gets overwritten by the server the next time it updates. I have searched the forum but I have not found anything that pertains to this...

Any help would be GREAT!

Thanks,
Dallas
Posted by: dnorcross

Re: Server Error - 103 - 10/11/07 10:59 AM

The -103 error is usually a communication issue between the local file and the Public Contact Server. I would first try refreshing the Now Contact program prefs on the local file and optimizing it as well. Those are done as follows:

1. Make sure you know where your primary contact file is stored on your hard drive. You'll need to know where it is to set it as your primary file again at the end of this process.
2. Quit Now Contact (if it is running).
3. Open a new Finder window and select Home from the Go menu.
4. Once in your Home folder, go to: /Library/Preferences/
5. Find the files named com.nowsoftware.nowcontact.plist and com.poweronsoftware.nowcontact.plist and move them to the desktop.
6. Find the folder named Now Contact Prefs and move it to the desktop as well.
7. Open your Now Contact file and make it your primary contact file (Launch Now Contact, open the File menu, select Open, make sure there is a checkmark next to the option "Make this my primary file," locate your Now Contact file, highlight it and click Open).
8. Trash the items moved to the desktop in steps 5 and 6.

Optimize the Now Contact file by going under File to Close with the Option key held down on your keyboard. This optimizes a file and is a preventative task. It's the least aggressive way of cleaning up your data. All your attachments, notes and links will still be there.