13 node cube cluster = trouble

Posted by: TCPMeta

13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 10:03 AM

Well the 13 cube cluster is no more. The reason why is because the light bill went sky high and the landlord that owns the space im renting is complaining about power loss or brown outs. Come to find out each space only gets 100 amps lol. Anyway I took it down and replaced it with a PC running SCO OpenServer UNIX 5. I think i'll just reformat the cubes and sell them at the shop. Kinda mad though, the 13 node cluster was fun to play with.
Posted by: shadowboxer47

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 10:11 AM

TCPMeta wrote:
Quote:
The reason why is because the light bill went sky high and the landlord that owns the space im renting is complaining about power loss or brown outs.


You have reached divine status in my judgment, sir.
Posted by: anil8tor

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 10:38 AM

Im with shadowboxer47, you are a god...

BTW why not sell them here on the swap forum? I for one would like a cube wink
Posted by: JediJoker7169

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 10:46 AM

As would I...
Posted by: maestro

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 11:59 AM

And I would love a cube too. That would give us more to offer our members. PM me please.
-maestro
Posted by: shadowboxer47

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 12:25 PM

maestro wrote:
Quote:
PM me please.


Me too!
Posted by: maclover1986

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 01:28 PM

Me four. A good breakaway from iMacs...
Posted by: macDeviant

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 03:03 PM

hey i would loved to have a 2nd cube. please let me know as well. how much?


macDeviant
Posted by: Jias

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 03:35 PM

I, too, would consider buying a Cube, if you're selling.
Posted by: whitlock

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 04:44 PM

Same here. I've always wanted a cube, not to mod, but just in general. Unfortunately they still cost a pretty on eBay so if you would be willing to cut us modders a deal...
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/21/05 08:46 PM

Crap I bet it would be cheaper then to buy one off of ebay. They all have anywhere 1GB to 1.5GB, 450 to 500MHz CPU speed. Geforce 2 MX or Rage 128 Video and with 40 to 80GB HDs. Airport cards and running Darwin 8.0.1 When I sell them I was planing to toss on Tiger 10.4.3. Probly around 400 to 500 bucks a pop. I spent around 600 bucks on them for parts to upgrade them when I got them. So I need to try and get some of that back since now I can't use it as a tax write off.

I'm going to keep the main Cube that I used in the cluster. It has the best of the specs whistle

500MHz
1.5GB Memory
100GB HD
GeForce 2 MX (32MB vram)
Airport
Bluetooth 1.1 (Via USB doggle)
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:13 node cube cluster = trouble - 11/22/05 02:55 AM

I could fancy a cube too. I'll take a low spec one though, you can rip the HD and CD drive out if you want some spares. And the graphics card too maybe.