Purist?

Posted by: anil8tor

Purist? - 08/25/05 12:57 PM

Ok I am relatively new on this site, and I don't want to offend any one.
But I have noticed what is to me a disturbing trend IE: gutting a Mac case and building a wintel machine out of it. Now don't get me wrong, I am VERY impressed with some of these mods. They are technically impressive and some are downright beautiful! And I like wintel machines, at my house I have three of them.
However, I may be a purist, but I think a Mac is a Mac and even if you put it in a mac case a pc is a pc. I would like to see more mac mods that are mac hardware, even if you want to put some pc components in it, thats cool, just keep it mostly mac.
I have been building pc's for over 20 years and just recently made the move to mac to try something new. And I've come to love the differences, and relish the challenges of "not knowing how..."

Ok all of you guys with an iMac siting on your work bench in a pile, and that micro ATX motherboard in your hand. Please don't come looking for me frown
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:Purist? - 08/25/05 06:42 PM

I agree with you.
While I appreciate some of the skills used in these mods, a Mac is not a Mac just because it looks nice. They are also easy to use, and they work. Well.
Likewise, PCs aren't just inferior because they're ugly.

Of course, this discussion will be irrelevant within a couple of years....
Posted by: whitlock

Re:Purist? - 08/26/05 01:58 AM

Possibly, though we may modify this conversation on people using AMD's

laugh
Posted by: modyourmac

Re:Purist? - 08/26/05 03:34 AM

I'm inclined to agree. I see a mac based mod as being something that boots the mac OS. not something that is configured to look like the mac OS. All my work starts out as a mac, and ends up as a mac. Putting a PC in a mac case just seems kinda low-roller to me.
Posted by: mordaskyt

Re:Purist? - 08/26/05 04:09 AM