Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses

Posted by: JediJoker7169

Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses - 08/19/05 08:13 AM

Can you do that? It seems silly that Apple didn't include support for that in the program itself, but since they didn't, I need some other way to do it. My house has three stereo systems and for a party I've got coming up, I need to play something on all three. Anyone have any ideas? And if it requires actual code editing, I'm at a loss. I'm no programmer, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re:Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses - 08/19/05 09:46 AM

a high powered fm modulator would do the trick, or some sort of netcasting over LAN.

Re:Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses - 08/19/05 05:01 PM

That's all fine and good, but I was actually looking for a software fix, not hardware. Maybe I should just bite the bullet and get an FM transmitter or something. I hope not, though... I'm really not very well self-funded.

Re:Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses - 08/20/05 10:56 AM

given that there are computers at each point, netcasting would be a software fix, considering that you have a network setup.
Posted by: macDeviant

Re:Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses - 08/20/05 11:32 AM

there is a program called AIRFOIL by rouge amoeba... it will sound from any program to the airport express. it's 25 bucks. You can play music from the host computer and the express, though i'm not sure if it will send to more than one express at a time... handy program anyhow .
best of luck to your endevor

macDeviant

Post edited by: macDeviant, at: 2005/08/20 18:32

Re:Modding iTunes to Play on Multiple Expresses - 08/20/05 06:27 PM