The Iraq War will haunt America

Posted by: Zapata_

The Iraq War will haunt America - 06/22/05 10:45 AM

From a soldier, last October. I hear so much about 'support the troops', many times I believe that concern for the troops is anything but genuine. After all the best way to support the troops is through supporting the TRUTH. And most importantly. NOT PUTTING THEM IN HARMS WAY UNLESS ABSOLUTLY NECESSARY!!!!!!<br><br><blockquote><font size=1>In reply to:</font><hr><p>The Iraq War will haunt America<br><br>I am an ex-Military Intelligence officer who served 10 months in Baghdad; I was the senior intelligence officer for the area of Baghdad that included the UN HQ and Sadr City.<br><br>Since Bush exposed my person and my friends, peers, and subordinates to unnecessary danger in a war apparently designed to generate income for a select few in the upper echelon of America I have become wholeheartedly anti-Bush, to the chagrin of much of my pro-Republican family.<br><br>I fail to understand how Bush can be so strong regarding national security matters. As a 'footsoldier' in the 'war on terror' I can personally testify that Bush's administration has failed to effectively fight terrorists or the root causes of terror. A lot of people have already discussed the faulty reasoning for going to war and how the war in Iraq is not related to the war on terrorism, but even within the execution of the war, there are significant failures by the national leadership to execute the 'war' on Iraq and to 'reconstruct' Iraq.<br><br>For instance:<br><br>1. Bush stated that our troops would have everything we would need to fight in Iraq. Why then was I given only 19 rounds of 9mm ammunition for my only weapon, a pistol, when I crossed the border into Iraq on April 8th, 2003? Why did hundreds of soldiers in my unit not have armor inserts for our body armor? Why did we have to use 'creative accounting' to come up with cash to pay Iraqi sources for information- sometimes even using our perso