hackintosh

Posted by: crazy1717

hackintosh - 11/22/09 03:49 PM

i'm new to this hackintosh stuff. I'm trying to install mac os on my pc but everytime i install on the hard drive it will not boot it get to a white screen with a apple on it and freeze
Posted by: SmilesLots

Re: hackintosh - 11/23/09 04:37 AM

Welcome to the world of the Macintosh. The Mac OS (OS X) is not yet designed to run natively on a pc. To go so would be dishonest and a violation of Apple's SLA's. You really need to get a Macintosh computer that has the correct startup roms and such. Maybe those roms are available in software somewhere. What version of the Mac OS are you trying to install - 10.3, 10.4, 10.5 or 10.6? That also makes a difference. And a hacked version will never give you the performance/experience of the Mac OS imho. Be honest and jkust buy a Mac.
Posted by: Antonio

Re: hackintosh - 11/24/09 09:50 AM

Originally Posted By: crazy1717
i'm new to this hackintosh stuff. I'm trying to install mac os on my pc but everytime i install on the hard drive it will not boot it get to a white screen with a apple on it and freeze


crazy,
have a look here:

here

and here

That is probably the most complete source of information on building and maintaining a Hackintosh.

Originally Posted By: SmilesLots
Welcome to the world of the Macintosh. The Mac OS (OS X) is not yet designed to run natively on a pc. To go so would be dishonest and a violation of Apple's SLA's. You really need to get a Macintosh computer that has the correct startup roms and such. Maybe those roms are available in software somewhere. What version of the Mac OS are you trying to install - 10.3, 10.4, 10.5 or 10.6? That also makes a difference. And a hacked version will never give you the performance/experience of the Mac OS imho. Be honest and jkust buy a Mac.


Uhm, what are you saying? This is the modding section. A good Hackintosh is right up our alley laugh
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: hackintosh - 11/25/09 01:13 PM

Here is the run down on achieving a Hackintosh. Go with strictly intel hardware for the CPU and chipset. You can use AMD, VIA, SiS and even nVidia but you'll only get so far. For Tiger and Leopard you need at lest a Intel 945 series chipset and a Intel CPU that uses SSE3. You can use a SSE2 CPU but you will run into problems.

There are a few ways to boot up OS X. A 3rd party kernel will be in order unless you're using a i7 or Xeon CPU then you can use the stock "Vanilla" kernel. You'll have want to use the Darwin bootloader or chameleon bootloader and have it set in the MBR (Master Boot Record). There is even a special USB dongle that lets you boot OS X naively but it only works on a handful of motherboards.

You're best is to buy a copy of OS X and build you're own CD. This way you're not pirating software and Apple still gets their share out of it. Once you get OSx86 to run do not use the system update app or it may cripple the system and you'll have to start all over again.


=====

I've seen some hackintoshes that have been built on a 200 dollar budget and still able to hang with mac mini's and some MacBook pros. My system is a mock up of a MacPro, I think it can hang with the higher end Apple systems just fine. The only downside is I cant run Parallels or bootcamp but I can dual boot the system or use some other VT software like QEMU, VMware and Virtual Box.
Posted by: SmilesLots

Re: hackintosh - 11/26/09 05:19 AM

Well I stand corrected. I must be terribly out of date.
Posted by: Antonio

Re: hackintosh - 11/26/09 07:41 PM

Somewhere around here, I have my notes for building a decent Core i7 on a well-known compatible Gigabyte board...

**digs around for notes**
Posted by: Jim_

Re: hackintosh - 11/26/09 10:08 PM

Okay, you guys really have my curiosity peaked, I'm going to have to try this. I'll check out the links, if I get stuck I know where to come. Good to have you rogues on board.
Posted by: John Rougeux

Re: hackintosh - 12/05/09 05:15 AM

Originally Posted By: Antonio
Somewhere around here, I have my notes for building a decent Core i7 on a well-known compatible Gigabyte board...

**digs around for notes**


Still digging?

I'm with Reboot. I'm going to have to try this too. I want to build something equivilent to a Mac Pro.