iSight Security

Posted by: whitlock

iSight Security - 05/06/07 05:49 PM

Hey Everyone,

I'm not a software programmer, though I can come up with ideas.  Unfortunately I don't know where to contact someone about this.  If you can make the idea a reality, or know someone who can, that would be great.

Basically since Apple laptops anymore come with built-in iSights, and they can be used during the login process, why not have them act as a secure login device?  You could use facial recognition by itself or with a password.  Another idea is to have a random photo or special bar code that can be used which can be kept in your wallet.  To log in, you will need to use your password as well as the photo.  This would obviously slow down login time, though people couldn't exactly remote login without knowing or having that picture. 

If this exists and I'm ignorant, call me on it.  I'd download the software in a heartbeat.  If not, something like this should be made and for the cheap (or free) crowd.
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re: iSight Security - 05/06/07 09:01 PM

thats a good idea whitlock.  It wouldn't really be used by alot of people, as they wouldn't have a need.  But, I could see some really using a feature like this.  My question is, how do you load an app with the login?  I would think you would have to modify the OS for that.  Then, what about updates and incompatibilities, etc...
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iSight Security - 05/07/07 10:05 AM

How good is facial recognition this days? It'd be a pain if you couldn't log in because you shaved your beard off one morning...
The barcode idea isn't so bad. You could get one tattooed on the back of your wrist or something.

Maybe just use the mic for voice recognition instead. Even more Mac laptops (and iMacs) have mics than iSights, and the technology is probably more reliable.