Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD

Posted by: wyclef

Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/11/07 06:14 PM

Please Help. I was trying to install a new Pioneer DVD Burner 112D into my G4 MDD in the bottom optical drive bay and everything seemed to go fine except the face of the drawer can't eject because it's a hair to high up on the top left and top right corners. The rounded opening apple leaves you is catching the top left and top right corners of the drawer and I can't seem to figure out a solution outside of chopping up the face of the drawer with a knife which I'd rather not do. What do I do? Also, when I booted up with the new drive it only recognized the new drive and not the old one anymore. I don't mind the new drive being the primary drive but don't know how to set the jumpers on the new and old drive so that the new drive is primary and old one is secondary. That is if I can even use the new drive and don't have to ship it back. Why can't apple just make things easy with stuff like this? Please help.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/11/07 07:45 PM

Dunno about the button thing but you might of disconnected the old drive or didn't set the correct jumpers for the Master and Slave.
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/11/07 10:32 PM

take the face off the front of the drive.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/11/07 11:52 PM

You only need to take the front off the drawer. Not the whole thing.
Posted by: Protocol6v

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 03:33 AM

The Face unsnaps from the draw.
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 04:19 AM

I have 2 Pioneer 111 in my mdd and I simply popped the front panel off the drawers with a butter knife.  they will easily snap back on if you ever need them again.
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 06:32 AM

one more thing.. 

make sure the drawer is open when you take the front off.  you can't really access the seam you need to pry apart with it closed.
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 10:24 AM

cool. thx! so how do i set the jumpers correctly? and do i hold down option + eject to access the secondary drive?
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 10:58 AM

Originally Posted By: "wyclef "

cool. thx! so how do i set the jumpers correctly? and do i hold down option + eject to access the secondary drive?


just activate the eject menubar item within osx

http://www.creativetechs.com/tips/quicktips_51.html

all pioneer drives list the jumper settings on the back
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 01:29 PM

Jumpers should be set to slave according to the instructions on the drives label. Unless your top drive is set to Cable Select, but they are usually set to Master.

Option eject does work for your second drive, or as I'm sure the above link says, you can install the eject menu item by going to /system/library/coreservices/menu extras and double clicking the eject.menu file to launch it. Should then see an eject icon appear up by your clock.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/12/07 02:28 PM

Your old drive is set to master. Set the new drive to slave and check the connections and you're good to go. On the back of the drive there should be a print out of the jumper settings.
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/13/07 03:03 PM

Perfect. That's all set. Now I have a question. I installed a Seagate 320GB ATA100 HD into my MDD and it's only showing as having 298GB available. What gives? Is there a way to access the other 20gigs?
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 02:01 AM

Theres a cap for the MDD to only use up to 298 something. You need a RAID card or something to get all of the space.
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 05:31 AM

Originally Posted By: "wyclef "

Perfect. That's all set. Now I have a question. I installed a Seagate 320GB ATA100 HD into my MDD and it's only showing as having 298GB available. What gives? Is there a way to access the other 20gigs?


Thats because hard drive companies consider 1000KB as 1MB rather than the actual 1024KB that computers see as 1MB.  This is the case with all HD's.  Thats why 80GB are really 74GB, 120gb are really 112GB etc.

I have the same 320GB seagate in my MDD and also get 298.  BTW..  there is no limit to how big a drive MDD's can take.
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 07:43 AM

woah. that's lame.
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 08:17 AM

its all a big marketing ploy.
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 09:20 AM

how can i test to see how much better my new drive runs than the old one?
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 10:19 AM

yo, i just realized my new cd drive doesnt work now that i've installed the hd. what's the deal?
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 11:40 AM

Are they on the same bus? Check your jumpers.

There is a size limit on drives for any comp. Its just the old limit was 128GB, and the new one is astronomical in comparison. Real drives are nowhere near it yet.
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 12:28 PM

how do i tell if they are on the same bus. check jumpers for what. everything was set to cable select
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 12:45 PM

same ata cable = same bus 
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 01:25 PM

wyclef:  you really need to read this as you don't seem to understand the basics of HD installs etc. 

http://lifehacker.com/software/feature/how-to-install-a-hard-drive-137179.php

I found this for you in a simple google search..
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 01:35 PM

ok yea, careful of static electricity...that's what she said. so it's not on the same bus. i checked the system profiler and it's showing up but doesn't eject on option eject or show up in the apple menu eject button thing. i was considering reinstalling the old drive and seeing if the problem disappears but would rather not have to open this thing up again.
Posted by: wyclef

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 02:27 PM

Ok, i started up again using the old HD and the drive works fine and then started up using the new HD and the drive doesn't work. Is it possible the drive self installed some info onto the old drive? I have no clue what's up.
Posted by: zenstate

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 06:37 PM

either you have the new drive jumpers set wrong or its dead
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/14/07 11:59 PM

Can you eject with no HD connected? Just hold your eject button or the left mouse button on bootup.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Pioneer DVD 112D and G4 MDD - 06/19/07 04:45 AM

Might have a bad MBR or a bad sector. Pop in the OSx install disc and go into the drive setup and make it write zeros on the drive. Then make a partition. Or pop the HD into a PC and try out some harddrive tool program that can check for errors and such. Seagate has a program and I think WesternDigital also has a program that does it and boots off of a CD or Floppy. After that see if you can update the firmware on the drive and if that doesn't help then it's 100% a dead drive.