Cracking open an Emac - Deadly CRT Discharge

Posted by: wyclef

Cracking open an Emac - Deadly CRT Discharge - 05/30/07 03:43 PM

hey, i'm crackin open an emac to swap out the optical drive and hard drive and just want to doublecheck to see if I can do this without discharging the CRT? since i've never done this before, and am aware of the deadly risks yet plan to do this anyways and read this article yet will still probably fry myself i was wondering if anyone could offer some homebrew advice for a noob. I'm doing it regardless of the risk so give me some good advice.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Cracking open an Emac - Deadly CRT Discharge - 05/31/07 05:56 AM

Avoid the cable going to the CRT to the power board. Also avoid the big black box on the power board. I would discharge it.

Heres a nifty idea. Get a old power cord and cut off the two main prongs and tape them off. Leave the ground 3rd prong on. Plug it into a outlet for 10 seconds. Just prey your outlet has a common ground so it will discharge. If the outlet doesn't have a common ground then it will not discharge.
Posted by: modyourmac

Re: Cracking open an Emac - Deadly CRT Discharge - 05/31/07 08:29 AM

I would say that the short answer is no, you dont need to discharge the crt.  All the work you'll be doing is on the other side of the analog display assembly, so you wont be near the anode aperture, or anode cap. The closest you'll get will be removing the main rear fan assembly. So, bearing that in mind, pay attention to what you do touch, make sure not to touch other things, and you should be all good.