HTMac Project

Posted by: MDC

HTMac Project - 05/27/07 07:23 PM

Alright, so I've wanted to start this project for a while, but I know I will need some big time help. No better place to get it right, right?

Alright, so here is the idea:

A Mac in a Home Theater PC style case (to be placed with my Home Theater Equipment) that will be upgradeable (PCI slots, 2 5.25" slots, and lots of hard drive space.) I want to be able to start small (case, hard drive and board/processor,) and inexpensive. Eventually I want it to be a monster. High Performance audio/video, tuner/dvr capability, dual boot (maybe), with tons of storage space.

Crazy? Impossible? I don't know, I've never done anything like this before.

I have a <a href="http://www.pcalchemy.com/product_info.php/pName/silverstone-lascala-sstlc17-htpc-case-black/cName/htpc-cases">case</a> in mind which meets my expansion needs. However this presents a couple questions.

1. If I use an Intel, do I have to buy a "mac" intel chip and board?
2. If I do, then will that fit in this case?
3. If not, are there only some boards/chips that mac os will run on?

If anyone can help me out on those I would be very grateful. smile

As far as processors go I want better than average but not the best. Sad to say, I don't even really know what that is these days. Suggestions?

Hardware:
I already have a few HD's lying around that I can use.
For audio I am thinking of a <a href="http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Revolution71-main.html">Revolution 7.1 PCI Card</a>
Video I will probably need to do thing basic and cheep at first. (I don't want to worry about tuner/dvr at all at the beginning.
I will have my router right there, so I won't need wireless for a while.

Alright, thats the basics I guess.

Comments, questions, suggestions PLEASE! This will be a long project, but I am ready to get started. Thanks in advance.

_Matthew
Posted by: zib_redlektab

Re: HTMac Project - 05/27/07 08:23 PM