iMac g3 upgrade

Posted by: jjholly

iMac g3 upgrade - 04/11/07 10:53 AM

I got a g3 iMac on egay for 20, no install disks.
My 1st mac apart from a 7500.
Its 233mhz, 96mb ram, tray loader with ir port.
Os x 10.1.
Will it run 10.2, i just order a 128 ram chip.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/11/07 12:19 PM

Yes it will. With a little more RAM, it will run 10.3 (or with XPostFacto 10.4).
Max RAM on that bad boy is 2x256MB = 512MB, but your RAM modules will need to have 16 chips on them, otherwise they will read as 128MB each instead of 256MB.
Max internal HD is 128GB ATA, and you can easily upgrade the optical drive to a much newer one. Straight swap apart from the front bezel. Don't count on it being quick enough to burn a DVD though......
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/11/07 12:21 PM

Thanks.
Ok so when my new ram chip comes i can get a copy of 10.2.
Then buy a bigger hd cuse i cant do that with out the install disk unless i can put both hds in the imac. frown
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/12/07 04:32 AM

To keep in mind you need to make two partions. the Main partition should be no greater then 8GB and you can use the rest of the drive for the second partition. Don't ask me why but the old iMac doesn't like using a main partition greater then 8GB. It can run on a bigge partition but programs can be picky.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/12/07 01:00 PM

Funny that, its basically the same machine as the PowerBook Lombard, but they were fine with bigger partitions. Just as picky about RAM though. I should add that if you do bump the RAM up and get Panther or Tiger running, get PC133 RAM. It should be happy with PC100, but OS X is very picky on these machines. I find the over-spec stuff tends to be much more reliable.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/13/07 04:46 AM

I was lucky with mine. I had a laptop that the LCD died and the laptop had 256MB ram. I tryed it out and wahlla. Haven't had a problem yet and the memory is PC133.

I need to bring my headless imac back to life and take some pics.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/15/07 05:30 AM

:'(  No my imac died. But i pick ed up an imac blue slot loaded for 15. smile
But its 9.2 and only has 64meg ram.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/15/07 06:50 AM

My imac has com back from the dead.
So i flipped it over to put the 128mb chip in.
Rebooted and i said there was only 160.
so i turned it over to swap the chips but they are different sizes.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/15/07 09:48 AM

If you started with 96MB, thats 32MB plus 64MB. Sounds like you swapped out the 64 for the 128. The RAM in the lower slot underneath the CPU card has to be lower profile than the RAM on in the top slot. Maybe your 64 won't fit underneath?
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/15/07 09:56 AM

The slots are differents sizes. ::)
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 01:15 AM

Only G4 iMacs have different size slots. Tray loader G3s have 2x PC66 144 pin SO-DIMM slots.

Apparently the rev As will only take 384MB total. Never new that.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 03:15 AM

I does ill take some pics tonight.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 03:49 AM

Slot-Loaders use PC100 168pin SDRAM.

Thing is not every Tray-Load imac can use 384MB.

He might be talking about the V-Ram slot. Because that's a different size.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 04:04 AM

the slot under the metal cage aqnd the one to the left of the board same size different pin layout.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 06:37 AM

Yeah, thats VRAM. The other RAM slot is underneath the CPU, on the underside of the card.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 09:33 AM

oh ok ill give it a try now.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 09:56 AM

Thanks, all done, but its running slower i think, will it be better next time i reboot.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/16/07 08:55 PM

Best thing to do really is do a fresh install of the OS then it may run faster.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/17/07 12:54 AM

Do u advise in getting a copy of 10.2 of bit torrant or someother free place.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/17/07 11:51 AM

I don't think anyone here is really allowed to condone that sort of thing. But where you get it is your business. Can't imagine there is too many people sharing such an old OS, since bit torrent wasn't popular (if it existed at all?) when 10.2 was current, so you might find it takes a long time to download anyhow.
There must be someone who has old 10.2 discs for sale somewhere. You wouldn't have to pay much if you found a set on eBay. Or anywhere else I imagine.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/17/07 08:40 PM

I got 10.2 on a iMac restore CD if you want it, just pay shipping.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/18/07 07:39 AM

Thanks. Will they work on a g3 cuse my restore disks are 9. Also are you in the US or UK.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/18/07 01:01 PM

They should do. Jaguar was alot less machine specific than Tiger is.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/19/07 04:22 AM

Opps, I thought I had 10.2 but it's 10.1. If you still want it i'm in the US and it's made for most G3 systems.
Posted by: jjholly

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/19/07 08:40 AM

Dont worry, but thanks anyway. I would like to overclock them but never done overclocking befor, is it easy. Im think they will need fans because they get very hot allready.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: iMac g3 upgrade - 04/19/07 07:05 PM

O/Cing a imac is a bit tricky.
http://www.bekkoame.ne.jp/~t-imai/maine.html