dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ?

Posted by: wisdom_105

dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 09:59 AM

i was just wondering if it is possible for someone to have a dual 1.8 g4 ?

thanks for your time

rob
Posted by: maestro

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 10:13 AM

Yes, but no in stock form from Apple.  It would be upgraded with a aftermarket processor.
Posted by: zenstate

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 11:55 AM

comes in both dual 1.6 and dual 1.8

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/encore_st_duet.html
Posted by: krusher117

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 01:00 PM

i think you can get a dualie from OWC and FastMac as well. 
Posted by: wisdom_105

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 01:49 PM

would the speed of it come close to my iMac G5 1.8?
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 03:06 PM

Horses for courses. At some tasks, the dual G4 would slaughter the iMac. At others, not so much.
If you equip the G4 with a graphics cared of similar or better spec than the iMacs, and max the RAM (2GB), it should beat it at most things. The imac should have faster hard drive access unless you get a SATA PCI card and drive for the G4.

GFX card in the iMac should be based on an nVidia FX5200. You can pick one of these up cheap out of a PowerMac G5 and snip a couple of pins to fit it most PMG4s. Certainly the last few (MDD) models.

Overall, the G4 will be faster and definitely a more versatile machine.
Posted by: krusher117

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 03:27 PM

oh yea i agree, the G4 will compare very well against a G5..especially a single one
Posted by: zenstate

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 04:02 PM

my G4 is only a dual 867 and its respectably fast.  a dual 1.8 would scream.
Posted by: maestro

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 04:54 PM

Cache matters.  At least on the G4s.  A dual cpu with 4mb total cache will be faster than the 1.6-1.8 with 1mb total cache models at a lot of applications.  I am waiting to see just how fast the MDD 1.8dp Sonnet models really are?  You got that MacMod?  Lets see a review!
Posted by: zenstate

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 07:01 PM

not to overtake this guys thread but speaking of cache..  my MDD as stated is a dual 867 with 1mb L3 per cpu vs. 2mb on the higher models.  think i'm still better off with 2mb total L3?
Posted by: maestro

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 08:11 PM

Zen, yes and no.  Yes cuz it would be faster, no cuz it would not be economically sound to switch without moving up in speed.  Duals are usually faster too, I forgot to mention that earlier.  The best example being comparisons between the G4 733 and 533dp G4.

Personally I dont see buying a single cpu computer ever as I am never only doing one thing on it.
Posted by: zenstate

Re: dual 1.8 g4 powermac g4 possible ? - 01/16/07 08:33 PM

tiger seems to make great use of dual cpu also.  better than panther or jaguar did.  I keep a cpu meter in the dock and both cpu are used very evenly about 90% of the time.