Dual screen

Posted by: soundman

Dual screen - 12/06/04 10:21 AM

Ok so I have two macs wit VGA output i should be able to put this into dual screen but not entirly sure how help would be appreciated.

Jon
Posted by: krusher117

Re:Dual screen - 12/06/04 02:11 PM

Not sure I get you....can you rephrase the question?
Posted by: soundman

Re:Dual screen - 12/06/04 03:43 PM

The G3 imacs the indigo i think, have an extra VGA port is it possible for this model to use dual screen because at the moment it is mirroring.

Jon
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re:Dual screen - 12/06/04 06:12 PM

I am not sure that the graphics card can support dual screen mode in anything but mirror mode. There should be an option in your display settings to change from mirror mode to extended desktop mode.
Posted by: krusher117

Re:Dual screen - 12/06/04 08:41 PM

ok, I get you now. The answer is no. Your iMac uses a Rage 128 graphics card from ATI that can not support dual monitors in any way. It simply isn't capable. However, many models do support dual monitors with a fairly simple hack. This includes all Radeon based eMacs and iBooks as well as all new models of the G5 iMac.

Here are some good resources
Information on activating dual screen with Screen Spanning Doctor
http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ibook_e.html
Download Screen Spanning Doctor 0.3.2 here
http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/ScreenSpanningDoctor.sit
Check compatibiliy here
http://www.rutemoeller.com/mp/ibook/supportlist_e.html

Sorry you can't do it on yours, but the info listed above will more than likely be new to others who can use it.
Posted by: krusher117

Re:Dual screen - 12/06/04 08:42 PM

Sorry I forgot to mention this, if all you want to do is MIRROR your screen, then of course you can do that without any sort of additional software. This hack is for extending your desktop across two screens.
Posted by: soundman

Re:Dual screen - 12/07/04 06:55 PM

Thank you sorry bout this i am not the greatest mac user in the world but i'm wanting to learn. My damn school refuses to support the Macs we have using the ict equipment.
Posted by: krusher117

Re:Dual screen - 12/07/04 08:05 PM

no prob.....any one here can help you with problems