Apple G4 *Quicksilver* Mirrored Drive bays, questions

Posted by: dsmith7079

Apple G4 *Quicksilver* Mirrored Drive bays, questions - 03/25/08 09:21 PM

Hey all,

As I'm new to this site, I was hoping someone could help me out here...

I picked up a Apple g4 (dual 867mhz) machine from work, I saved it from a horrendious fate with a compactor and well... I'm sure someone else can figure what happens after that...

I love the machine, it's a great box, but, it's loud as hell...

Now, I have replaced the Stock 120mm fan with a SilenX 120x120x38mm - 18dBA - 90CFM iXtrema Pro Fan with Fluid Dynamic Bearings. From FrozenCPU.

Still the machine is loud.... I am rather new to modding, I've done some custom paint jobs on cases, mainly for me..

Does anyone have any ideas how i can introduce more air flow to this machine?

Oh, By the way, I did take out the speaker, and I am looking at mounting a 80mm or bigger fan in that spot...

Please... anyone?

Thanks,

Dan
Posted by: ctan

Re: Apple G4 *Quicksilver* Mirrored Drive bays, questions - 03/25/08 11:52 PM

There are PCI fans available. I'm not sure on the layout of the Quicksilver, but you could pick up a PCI fan to cool the components more directly (bad English, sorry).

They are relatively cheap. Or you could go all out and throw in a water cooling system. There's a review of one in the hardware section. It was pretty sweet. I'd make sure to measure the top of the machine before getting one though, as the 733 I tested it on was just a 1/2 inch to short to sit evenly on top.
Posted by: Protocol6v

Re: Apple G4 *Quicksilver* Mirrored Drive bays, questions - 03/26/08 03:40 AM

The power supply fans in most MDD G4s were REALLY loud. Those could be your problem.

Re: Apple G4 *Quicksilver* Mirrored Drive bays, questions - 03/26/08 07:20 AM

Thanks for the awasome replies I really appricate it when someone actually helps someone out!.