G4 processor in g3 beige...

Posted by: zrust

G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/24/07 07:46 AM

so i retrieved my (very) old beige g3/233 (clocked to 300) and my agp g4/400 with a fried motherboard the other day. I restored the g3, but it seems a tiny bit slow. now, considering that my fried g4 motherboard deserves the trash, can i use the processor in the g3? Can anybody give m some guidelines as to how to do this(if possible)?
Posted by: Protocol6v

Re: G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/24/07 07:57 AM

If it is an AGP Graphics G4, the processor is completely different. If it has a ZIF G4 in it, you can just throw the G4s processor in the G3 and google someover clocking guides to clock the G4 accordingly.
Posted by: zrust

Re: G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/24/07 09:37 AM

aww.. well, there goes 100 mhz down the drain...Whats the difference between agp and zif processors anywy?
Posted by: maestro

Re: G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/24/07 11:00 AM

The daughterboards are completely different.  Size, shape, connection, etc etc etc.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/25/07 01:14 AM

The chips themselves are pin compatible if you're good with a soldering iron.......

wink
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/25/07 04:14 AM

It would be like taking a square block and hammering it into a circle hole. It would be easier to buy a new G4 logic board.
Posted by: zrust

Re: G4 processor in g3 beige... - 04/25/07 07:52 AM

Originally Posted By: "TCPMeta "

It would be like taking a square block and hammering it into a circle hole. It would be easier to buy a new G4 logic board.


easier, but more expensive no doubt...i dont want a new computer, i already have a g5, but i thought id restore this and give it to my son...
Thanx anyways guys! smile