time to upgrade ...

Posted by: fredrick

time to upgrade ... - 02/26/07 08:47 PM

confused
Ok all, I know that it has certainly be reported times and times, but I did not find any answer.

I have an "early" imac 20" with a 2.0Ghz cpu. The warranty is about to expire, and I would like to change my dual core cpu with a more powerfull dual 2 core. but the problem is that they all confused me with the name and specifications.
I would like to know what is the cpu name who is in my imac (johna ? memrom ? ...) , what is the socket type (478,479?), what is the cpu type (5500 ? 5600 ? ..) and by which cpu can I change without any problem ? I suppose the more I can put will be a 2,3 ghz ??? but it has to be the same socket type and to not heat too much ?
Any help welcome. Thanks !
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/27/07 01:27 AM

Core Duo is Merom I think, and I believe it uses socket 775. So in theory, you could install the new Core 2 Quad. Not seen it done yet though.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/27/07 04:12 AM

I wouldn't change out the CPU just yet. Just up the memory and get a bigger harddrive.
Posted by: fredrick

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/27/07 10:50 AM

I already have 1.5Go of RAM and 250Go hdd for which I still have 60% free ...
Anyway I just checked the price of a T7600 ...and ouch , it will cost a LOT ! (hope this one is compatible with the imac mobo)
Posted by: Protocol6v

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/27/07 12:22 PM

They're expensive chips. That's why I don't see the price of Macs coming down in the near future.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/27/07 05:38 PM

Most PC users get mid range CPUs. Apple trys to go at the top of the CPU chain. It's like when ever Intel releases a new CPU Apple is making a system that will come with it.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/28/07 01:48 AM

I do wonder if the Quad Core chip would need a few extra drivers or something.
Posted by: rpster

Re: time to upgrade ... - 02/28/07 09:42 PM

intel imacs arent lga775, they're using socket m. same one as the mac mini's. so no core 2 quad extreme lovin' for you.

you can max out with a core 2 duo 2.33ghz for roughly $500
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: time to upgrade ... - 03/01/07 12:06 AM

Fair enough, that was an assumption on my part. Are any of the Core(2) Duos socket 775? Odd they would use more than one type for one chip.
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: time to upgrade ... - 03/01/07 01:04 PM

Look at AMD they make chips with so many socket types.
Posted by: fredrick

Re: time to upgrade ... - 03/01/07 09:48 PM

socket for it is a 479, and the best I can pretend will be the T7600  :'( but it is very too expensive  :'(
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re: time to upgrade ... - 03/05/07 12:40 PM

Still think its weird. Using one type of socket per chip makes everybody's life easier.