256MB Radeon 9200 Mac flash?

Posted by: Surfadelic

256MB Radeon 9200 Mac flash? - 04/06/05 06:04 PM

I already have the current Radeon 9200 Mac ROM downloaded to my HP, from the ATI web site, and know of a couple of sources for a 256MB Radeon 9200 card for just under $100.00. Would this be a worthwhile pursuit, or should I just cough up the $124.00 for the 128MB ATI Radeon 9200 ME, for my beige G3? I have a 256MB/128-bit PowerColor Radeon 9200 in my HP, and a 256MB/256-bit LeadTek GeForce 6800 GT for my Wintel PC project, so I'd rather not have to be stuck with just a 128MB video card in the G3, if I can avoid it.

Of course I'm thinking along the lines of when the 32MB ATI Radeon 7000 ME cards were the "only ones" available for PCI Macs, and folks were Mac flashing the cheaper 64MB Radeon 7000 cards. At least whenever I'm able to add a G5 tower to my collection, there's a 256MB Radeon X800 video card available for it. smile

Matt

Post edited by: Surfadelic, at: 2005/04/07 01:06
Posted by: maestro

Re:256MB Radeon 9200 Mac flash? - 04/07/05 01:06 AM

I don't think the 256 would perform better than the 128 would. You have to remember
that the beige has a limited bandwidth pci slot and slow system bus. I just dont think as
fast video card would help it out that much. You may be better off and save money towards a newer mac. Flashing cards isn't always easy and can sometimes get pretty
complicated. Even if you get it right they are not always stable. Its best to stick with Mac
oriented parts.
-maestro
Posted by: Surfadelic

Re:256MB Radeon 9200 Mac flash? - 04/07/05 04:42 AM

Thanks, I'll spend the $124.00 instead. smile

Matt
Posted by: burtman

Re:256MB Radeon 9200 Mac flash? - 04/07/05 10:08 AM

plus the new many of the new PC radeons have a smaller rom chip making flashing the mac rom to them impossible without soldering a larger capacity chip on first.
Posted by: burtman

Re:256MB Radeon 9200 Mac flash? - 04/07/05 10:09 AM

plus the new many of the new PC radeons have a smaller rom chip making flashing the mac rom to them impossible without soldering a larger capacity chip on first.

Dam didn't mean to double post thier... anyone fancy deleting this post? save me looking like a fool? blush

Post edited by: burtman, at: 2005/04/07 17:10