Ever been attempted...

Posted by: Vapor @ SuperCooled.net

Ever been attempted... - 01/05/07 08:57 PM

I was wondering if anyone has ever attempted to use non stock liquid cooling on a PowerMac G5 dual core/dual processor setup. Or even better yet tried to use TEC/Phase Change cooling on them. I know even with the stock liquid cooling I struggle to keep my temperature low, and was pondering the idea of some extreme cooling modifications to my G5, not enough courage to tear into my Mac Pro yet.

I know this is only my first post in this forum, and I am fairly new to Macs so I am open to all critcism. I have successfully built a triple cascade phase change system for my old PC, and won several awards for case/cooling modifications. I don't belive this type of modification is out of the question. I recently got my hands on some dead dual 2.5's and checked out the water blocks used. Nothing to hard to machine on a CnC, and then possibly braze them for a phase change block.

Basically I was just wondering if anyone has attempted this. I'm looking for a project this summer and have two brand new G5 cases arriving next week, but with college starting in a week and a half I won't have time or money to work on them. I have some plans drawn up if anyone is interested in how I'm thinking about doing this, so feel free to ask questions and let me know what you think.
Posted by: maestro

Re: Ever been attempted... - 01/06/07 07:57 PM