Mac Mod of the Year 2009?

Posted by: EdsJunk

Mac Mod of the Year 2009? - 12/24/09 11:05 AM

Is there a Mod of the year for this year???
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Mac Mod of the Year 2009? - 12/24/09 11:31 AM

Well I'm new to the Mods forum, and it's new to us, but from what I've seen in a short time TCPMeta is quite creative. I'd say we could give the poster some props for the carputers. cool
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Mac Mod of the Year 2009? - 12/25/09 08:04 AM

That is a very good question. Will there be a MacMod Challenge any time soon?

Thanks for the props on the carputer. It's not one of my personal favorites but a like of people like it.
Posted by: neil

Re: Mac Mod of the Year 2009? - 12/25/09 08:50 AM

Hi guys,

Great question. We've been talking about it. It looks like it's traditionally been done during the summer months (late summer). There's a chunk of things that we need to do to organize it.

We're trying to assess how to best do that, but in general, we like the idea of there being a MacMod contest.

I could use feedback as to timing -- do you guys feel like it needs to be in the summer time?
Posted by: TCPMeta

Re: Mac Mod of the Year 2009? - 12/25/09 06:37 PM

I would keep it around the same date like it has been in the past. August is around when they would release the results but I think the time they used for people to submit he guides and photos was around late July or early June.
Posted by: the JoshMeister

Re: Mac Mod of the Year 2009? - 12/26/09 11:32 AM

Originally Posted By: EdsJunk
Is there a Mod of the year for this year???
The short answer to why there wasn't a Mod Challenge in 2009 was that MacMod went through some major transitions behind the scenes throughout most of the year. With MacTech's recent acquisition of MacMod, I think things are going to go a lot smoother in 2010 (although there's still work to be done to adapt and merge various aspects of MacMod to better fit MacTech, like the podcast for example).