Looking for help on laptop mod.

Posted by: TJH

Looking for help on laptop mod. - 09/15/04 10:39 PM

I am new to the mod world and haven't done anything significant yet, but have an idea in mind and am looking for some help. My idea is that I'd like to create a clear plastic case with three sides each showing a different picture, and the back for all the ports and wires needed. I was thinking that I would use some old powerbooks, maybe something like a 540c, with active maxtrix and 1000's of colors(16bit) each running one of the three displays. My major hesistation here is that there would be a ton of wires running out the back, 3 power cords minimum plus any keyboards and ethernet wires. Any feedback is much appreciated. Is there anything that would run three displays each seperately? Thanks in advance.
Posted by: whitlock

Re:Looking for help on laptop mod. - 09/16/04 04:41 AM

Oooh...I think you will have to suffer mulitple cords. I hope someone has an idea, but I'm picturing a case with an LCD on each side. If you want it to show something different on each screen, while having your own display, you could mount a logic board from an older powerbook and split the connection from there. on the board, give it a small hdd and have a custom resolution to have whatever x whatever(3). So the mini mac inside the mac will have a long display, each lcd only showing part of it. I may be guessing wrong. Correct me if I am.
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re:Looking for help on laptop mod. - 09/16/04 03:41 PM