366 w/slotloading drive?

Posted by: troyn

366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/08/05 05:41 PM

Hey all...
I'am hoping to swap my standard optical drive for a slot-loading combo and then refit my bezel to keep the 'cosmetic' look of the machine. Combo drive suggestions? And thoughts about the bezel mod being able to work? I've googled around and only seem to come up with tray-loading upgrades and fits.

It's an Indigo w/320 Ram and a 40G/5400 HD.

-troy
(please don't be mad if I missed finding a similar post) :unsure:
Posted by: whitlock

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/08/05 06:49 PM

If you have a slot load drive already(which I'm sure), then there is no problem. Just replace the drive and your done. No bezel work because it's attatched to the case and not the drive.
Posted by: hookem2oo7

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 05:21 AM

I think he wants to convert the clamshell's tray loading drive to a slot loading...That would be a challenge. If you could find a slot loading drive that would fit and plug in you'd have to hope that the firmware would recognize it. Also, the clamshells drive is recessed about 2 cm from the outside of the case...just that in itself would pose a challenge to get the slot to be far enough to the outside to be able to properly insert discs
Posted by: troyn

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 09:25 AM

Thanks for the reply ....

"the clamshells drive is recessed about 2 cm from the outside of the case"

yeah hookem2oo7 that was my main concern - I haven't been able to map out where a combo drive would fit ...I think I may take a trip down to the local mac repair shop with my clamshell open and see if I could eyeball something that might work without getting too messy.
I was told the early gen. combos for the ibook would be recognized - but don't know that for certain either.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 11:21 AM

[censored] drives are a good bet for Mac laptops.
Posted by: whitlock

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 11:44 AM

HOW THE HECK WAS I SUPPOSED TO KNOW IT WAS A LAPTOP!
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 12:00 PM

Name another indigo that runs at 366......

smile
Posted by: troyn

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 02:48 PM

Thanks Waragainstsleep - I've checked out that xlr8 link and will go about sourcing a compatible drive either in town or online etc. ...and when that's out of the way I'll deal with the bezel problem.

It should be fun and I'm def. looking forward to it ...and of course I'll post any problems or successes. I think that getting a functional drive really won't be a problem, but rather making it look clean enough to still feel like a clamshell ...that's the tricky part.

troy
Posted by: whitlock

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/09/05 03:13 PM

Waragainstsleep wrote:
Quote:
Name another indigo that runs at 366......

smile


I'm pretty sure someone overclocked a 350 whistle
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/10/05 09:46 AM

350 iMac was a slot loader, and ran a 100 bus, so increments are 50 and 366 therefore not possible. But someone could have overclocked a 233, 266 or 333, so fair enough.
Posted by: shadowboxer47

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/10/05 10:49 AM

You know, I think we should all watch this. For some reason, this movie will apply to this particular discussion.

/Everything I learned in life, I learned from Red V Blue

Post edited by: shadowboxer47, at: 2005/11/10 18:49
Posted by: maestro

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/10/05 02:42 PM

I dont even know what to say. :woohoo:
-maestro
Posted by: anil8tor

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/10/05 02:49 PM

Ha! Red Vs Blue.... too cool! :lol:
Posted by: Smith_dup1

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/13/05 12:13 AM

Hello everybody
About 4 years ago, I installed a Superdrive (Toshiba SD-R6012) into my PISMO. It works like a charm but now I'd like to put its mechanism into the slot-loanding drive of a Powerbook Onyx Titanium 550 MHz. The Toshiba SD-R6012 is a TRAY-loading drive so I have to put it onto the slot-loading box of the Titanium Powerbook. Do you think is it possibile? Do you know if there is a guide?
Thanks In Advace
Smith
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 11/13/05 05:51 AM

Converting a tray load mechanism to use a slot is going to be extremely tough I would think. The tray relies on you clipping the CD onto the central hub so it will spin. Slot drives have gear to clip the disc in place for you. You'd probably be better off cutting a bigger slot in the case to allow the tray to be used. Or getting another drive.
Posted by: troyn

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 12/25/05 09:06 PM

Hey all, Merry HO HO :-)

Just want to mention that I crapped out on the slot upgrade and instead put a Toshiba SD-R2512 Combo (DVD/RW) tray load into my book 366 (Indigo clamshell). However I did a resonable mod with the orig. bezel - and took some pics for anyone interested.

http://members.shaw.ca/troytunes/Ibook_366_Bezel_Mod/

troy.
Posted by: anil8tor

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 12/26/05 05:28 AM

Very good pics, maybe do a short mod guide and submit it here?:)
Posted by: maestro

Re:366 w/slotloading drive? - 12/26/05 01:41 PM

Very nice. Be sure to post it as a mod guide for all to see.
-maestro