turn my ibook LDC into external screen

Posted by: dazibao

turn my ibook LDC into external screen - 10/06/05 10:17 AM

Hi everybody !

I'm newbie here, so please be indulgent if I posted this on the wrong forum or I did not found a topic related to my question… any mistakes will be gladly corrected !

so, to come to the point, it's all in the subject or almost.
I have a g3 500 Mhz Ibook who has a problem with its video circuit (I guess, I tried to change screens with no result whatsoever) : the LCD 12" screen works just fine, but the computer seems unable to send any image on it. when I plug in an external screen on the appropriate plug, it work just fine, though.

so my question is : I'd love to turn my LCD screen I took off my old Ibook into an external screen I could use a a second screen with my other Ibook (G4 1 Ghz). Having 2 screens for your Ibook on the move, what a mod, wouldn'it ? :P

any suggestions, written in easy english (speak slowly, english is not my mothertongue ! blush ) on how to do thos would be mostly welcomed !

Thanks in advance and :woohoo: for the work you guys do here ! :kiss:
Posted by: anil8tor

Re:turn my ibook LDC into external screen - 10/06/05 10:32 AM

When I look at your avatar I must say the answer has to be.....42... laugh

But really, did you check the ribbon cable to the lcd and the connector on the board? Your video board my not be bad. And if it is, you may be able to find one on ebay.
Good Luck!
anil8tor

Re:turn my ibook LDC into external screen - 10/06/05 10:38 AM

yeah, answer is defintely 42, and it makes me so depressed ! wink you know, life, you can loathe it or despite it, you can't ignore it…
to answer your post, I must say that now, I'd be more interested into turning my ldc into an external screen for my G4 Ibook than repairing the old one, which works just fine with an old 14" crt monitor plugged in…

the brain th size of a planet and I don't even have a clue on how to do this… depressing wink
Posted by: maestro