Clamshell screen

Posted by: Jias

Clamshell screen - 01/05/05 08:19 PM

I have an Clamshell iBook (I BELIEVE it's a Paris - 366MHz, one USB, one Firewire) that I've been upgrading. I put a 30GB HD in it, maxed out the RAM with a 512MB card, installed OS9.2 AND OSX (10.3), new battery. Two things I would like to do:

- put a DVD/CDRW drive in it (not a high priority, and since money is a little tight, it can wait)
- put a new display in it (they only have 800x600 screens)

Anybody know where I could find a 12.1" display that will work in this thing? Preferably 1024x768. Would this mean replacing the video card as well? I'm kind of new to this, and I know a LITTLE bit about hardware, enough to get by, but this'll be a first.

Wicked, thanks to anyone who can help.

Jias
Posted by: oojacoboo

Re:Clamshell screen - 01/05/05 08:33 PM

why not try to get an old ibook with a broken logic board or something. Buy it, take the screen from it, then sell off all of the other parts seperate. Who knows, you may even be able to make some money off of the deal. I would check ebay first.
Posted by: whitlock

Re:Clamshell screen - 01/05/05 09:07 PM

As long as the LCD uses the same power specs and input on the logic board, you should be able to do that. But I think they have diff. specs because I remember that the inverter had some issues on Clamshells that the first Gen IceBooks did not.

I would look into that a bit more before going any further.
Posted by: ubergeek89

Re:Clamshell screen - 01/05/05 09:30 PM

As far as the combo drive goes, I'm not sure if thats possible, but an external firewire or usb one is a route your willing to take, then that may be ok. Also if you are to go that route Lite-On Cd burners work nativly with macs, and os x loves them. With the display I really don't know what to tell you.
Posted by: maestro

Re:Clamshell screen - 01/05/05 11:03 PM