Titanium Powerbook Painting

Posted by: edude03

Titanium Powerbook Painting - 08/28/06 06:36 PM

Hello evveryone,
I would really like acarbon Titanium powerbook.
I know of colorware, However, they don't paint titaniums. Besides, they charge nearly half the price of the laptop for painting  mad

Anyway, I have no painting skils so is their anywere in canada that can do it, (more like in the gta) for a resonable price? Is it possible to coar it against sratching?

I'm new to this type of stuff
Thanks,
Mchael
Posted by: maestro

Re: Titanium Powerbook Painting - 09/15/06 10:35 AM

I suggest going to a local auto paint shop.  Just take the case parts and have em spray your choice.  Im guessing it would be a fair price.  If you prep and prime it, that would save you even more bucks.  The cost is usually based on the paint, not the labor.
Posted by: modyourmac

Re: Titanium Powerbook Painting - 11/07/06 05:40 PM

I can say from experience that painting a Ti-Book is a royal pain. I built and painted one a pearl yellow last year for my sister. masking was not the most fun ever.

As far as a carbon fiber look, I suppose its possible, but I dont know for sure. While auto shops are a good idea, you might hunt around for local custom airbrush artists. Someone with a good airbrush hand should be able to simulate carbon fiber.

As far as scratches go, make sure that whoever does your work clearcoats it with a good automotive clear. When polished, it'll be shiny, and should protect any artwork.
Posted by: Qtip42

Re: Titanium Powerbook Painting - 11/11/06 06:13 PM

I paint laptops, cases, etc for a living but it's mainly to local people and businesses in Oregon.