Hi Everybody

Posted by: newkojak

Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 05:45 PM

Hello Old Friends!

I thought that I would check in because aside from lurking a little bit in the political forum, I haven't been an active participant for a while and definitely haven't talked at all about myself for a long long time. That feels kind of unfair to me because I am also happy to see so many people still kicking it around in this funny little community.

I guess the short version is that I got married to another high school English teacher in 2011 and we are expecting a baby in 2014. I'm still teaching, but after seven years in Chicago Public Schools, I am now in my second year in the suburbs. I went and got a masters degree and state certification in educational technology and I try to stay active in that community in Illinois. I'm still a pretty political guy, but almost all of the energy I have is dedicated to educational policy and our awful mayor, so I don't get around to the soapbox much.

Aside from that, I miss a bunch of you and I hope everything is awesome!
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 05:55 PM

Okay, now that's a good excuse. grin

Good to "see" ya'.
Posted by: Papa

Re: Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 06:09 PM

Congratulations on all that has happened to you. Drop in when you can.
Posted by: Stumpy1

Re: Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 06:35 PM

Greetings, young man!

Sounds like all is well - that's good!
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 07:46 PM

Good stuff all around. Good to hear from you!
Posted by: DLC

Re: Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 08:47 PM

Quote:
I guess the short version is that I got married to another high school English teacher in 2011 and we are expecting a baby in 2014.

See !! shocked . That's what happens when you leave !! grin

Great to see ya !! laugh
Best wishes with the new one !

Let's see... your English teaching wife is expecting...
soo that makes your mom the grammer ! whistle
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: Hi Everybody - 10/30/13 09:42 PM