Help?

Posted by: Celandine

Help? - 07/25/13 08:47 AM


OOOPS< Supthin Worng woth my Monitor/DIsplay
he Power Button is Flashing..? Maybe a Re-Start will fix it.. If i don't come back, That's what happened... Otherwise, BRB frown
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 09:13 AM

Restart went smoothly, but the Display's Power Button is Still FLASHING In A Series of repeating 3 flashes on, then off, then 3 on etc.

The flashing are very brite.

Information:
I NEVER Use the Display Power Button for any reason,
it's actually more difficult for me to access that
the G4's PowerButton ...and I usually Shut Down
using the Apple PullDown.

It's a Big OLD Lucite Easel Display 30" -- ?
Posted by: MacGizmo

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 01:25 PM

Sounds like the LCD is going bad. Could be a wire short inside the display casing, or any number of other things you won't be able to fix yourself.

Have you tried unplugging the Display for an hour or so to let it cool down and reset itself? Speaking of resetting, have you tried adjusting any settings on the display itself (brightness, contrast, resolution, etc?)
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 02:00 PM


The only resetting I did was After the Fact
(I turned down the brightness a by a hair)
Other than that, the display or even the
cables haven't been jiggled or touched.

Like my stroke... It Just Woke Up That Way. frown

umm... I just sent it to a rinse with DiskWarrior
(to no avail) and was about to shut'er down and
hope for a ReSet when I came here to check for
a reply concerning my Cry 4 Help frown

Owing to the age I wouldn't doubt that it's the
LCD frizzing out...

HEY! ONE OTHER FACTOR!

I have it plugged into an APPLE ADAPTER used to
split the signal Between 2 Displays...
I unhooked the 17" display to make room, but
Never Bothered To UNHOOK THE ADAPTER That's
still channeling to the 30" Display.

Being the 2nd $100+ adapter to burn out.........

WTH? Gooda place to start as any... smile

THANX! laugh

BB In An Hour (More or Less)


Posted by: Jim_

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 03:35 PM

Not sure which 30" monitor you have, but I go with JD, it's probably something inside the display.

I really doubt it's software unless the resolution is out of range. Temporarily get rid of the splitter and see if it's okay is about all I can suggest. Zap the PRAM too.
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 03:52 PM

Ah... wthell was I talking about?

It's a 22" Apple Cinema Display lucite easel.

Meanwhile, I unplugged the Display
as much to check out the adapter as the display,
the next step would-have-been to take it out of
the mix if the display's power button was still
blinking... WHICH IT'S NOT.

But now that I know the adapter still works, I'll
remove the adapter anyway until I decide if I'm
going to use it as a splitter again (otherwise why
put mileage on it?)

My other alternative is to use any time allotted
to me to check out E-Bay for used Displays, and
pray that I get one with some life still left in it.
Posted by: AusMac

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 03:57 PM

Obsolete products are those that were discontinued more than seven years ago. Apple has discontinued all hardware service for obsolete products with no exceptions. Service providers cannot order parts for obsolete products.

All Apple Retail Stores and the Canadian, European, Latin American and Asia-Pacific operating regions follow the U.S. product list, but make no distinction between vintage and obsolete. When applied to Apple Retail Stores and these operating regions, products on the U.S. Vintage list (all models) are considered obsolete.
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 04:06 PM


True That.

much like my old joke about Common Law Marriage
...if it still applied, I'd be legally divorced
7X over and legally married to my present ball &
chain 6X laugh

IOW, My 2001 G4 is TWICE as Obsolete as "OBSOLETE"

...and as such is on Sloppy Seconds on just about
all fronts, 2nd round of Hard Drives, Displays,
adapters, RAM Batteries RAM Chips etc etc etc.

Time to take it out back & SHOOT The Bastid! smirk
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 04:34 PM

This is a very common problem with that version display. It was usually the power brick actually. There is a short cut... but it may be a fire hazard in and of itself. The power brick doesn't put out as much juice and the display thinks there isn't enough current and starts the dreaded coded flash.
I did the paper trick and it worked... but I only used it till I got another display.

All sizes of those lucite monitors had this problem.

I have 2 torn down in the back room of my studio ... on a shelf. What a waste.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread/2086442?start=0&tstart=0
Posted by: AusMac

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 04:38 PM

https://support.apple.com/kb/HT2811

https://support.apple.com/kb/TA40898
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 04:38 PM

Here's my thread from when it happened to me.

http://forums.applecentral.com/ubbthread...ower#Post560501
Posted by: AusMac

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 04:53 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lh7Cceserf4
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 05:01 PM


RATZ!

Yeah, having a load of auto mechanics in the family
I thought that's what that repeated Flashing Pattern
was indicating... A Series of 3 flashes & repeat smirk

I figured it was a trouble shooting code
but hadn't followed that hunch to the next step
that of de-coding the code. frown

Well, it stopped (FOR NOW)
but I'll take it as a WARNING.
Posted by: Pirate

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 07:20 PM

Boy is my stuff old, my mac 7600 desk top and the newer orange clam shell lap top still work good, except for the monitor is kinda dim on the old orange clam shell
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 07:33 PM

I have a 366 clamshell firewire model that has probably a year or so of use on it. The optical drive doesn't work though and I'm sure the battery is shot after sitting unused for 3 years or so. I took out the Airport card to use elsewhere. Pretty sure it's maxed RAM at 576M. It's yours if you want it. If you're interested I'll fire it up and see what OS is on it. I know I put some version of OS X
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 07:48 PM


'nother old joke;

When confronted with the whinging (whining)
PC Idiots accusing Apple of being seen as less
environmentally friendly than themselves, due
to a lack of Apple Hardware being turned in for
"Proper Disposal" rather than ending up in Land
Fill, I posted that APPLE Uses it's OWN Form of
RECYCLING --- We Call It E-BAY grin

My Point?

When my 17" Lucite Display "bought the farm", I
headed straight for e-bay, where I found not only
the identical 17" Display (for $100) but an
identical 2002 G4 that he'd thrown in FOR FREE.

In fact, it's the one I'm using at the moment,
that I just swapped out all my add-on-goodies
to a few months ago smile

This 22" Display was an e-bay replacement for the
20" one that was going dim, which was purchased
from e-bay about 5 years earlier. smile

IOW, Pirate,
If you're yearning to upgrade, join me in taking
advantage of those who "just can't live without"
The Newest Model every year. smile

Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/25/13 07:55 PM


There ya' go

OUR OTHER FORM of RECYCLING

Passing them around, and often Blessing
Newbies with their FIRST Apple Machine
to get them started on the Right Road.

That's how I got started, Some chick laid
"Her old DoorStop" on me, that turned out
to be a Maxed-Out Quadra700 with all the
trimmings.
Posted by: AusMac

Re: Help? - 07/29/13 05:54 PM

Does hard recycling help?
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/30/13 05:34 AM

Originally Posted By: AusMac
Does hard recycling help?


Yes I tried Unplugging the Display & Reattaching it again
while the computer was still running, that worked, the
power light Stopped Blinking,

but started blinking again as soon as the computer went
into sleep mode, the Power Light on the Display started
blinking (2 Short & 1 Long) as soon as it woke up again.

I did another Hard Re-Cycle, which stopped the blinking
again, then tried shutting down the computer for the night

When I restarted the computer this morning, the power
light went right back to blinking again. frown

At the moment I'm so despondant I feel like going away
and eating some worms ( Old Kids Book wink ) but when I
feel better I'll try re-seating the Graphics Card, and
if that fails, hooking up an old doorstop display to
test whether it's the Display or the Computer that needs
replacing. frown

I was considering a MacMini... but if it's the display
perhaps a used iMac would be the way to go...
Posted by: drjohn

Re: Help? - 07/30/13 06:04 PM

If everything is working, try a piece of black tape over the blinking light. ;-0
Posted by: Celandine

Re: Help? - 07/30/13 06:36 PM

Originally Posted By: drjohn
If everything is working, try a piece of black tape over the blinking light. ;-0


OY! Another Comedian...

I asked Ted what the squealing meant when I applied the
breaks. He said it meant the radio wasn't loud enough!
Posted by: MacGizmo

Re: Help? - 07/31/13 01:34 PM

I blame the Steve Jobs for this entire mess. :-p
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Help? - 07/31/13 02:14 PM

Don't forget Obama! He's to blame for this Applegate!