Why is this changed in Leopard?

Posted by: OSXaddict

Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 11:40 AM

Safari 3 now goes to http://www33.not-found-entry.org/search?qo=macminute&rn=THGSY54Z9DfjWYy when you type in Macminute and hit the return key?<br><br>And it's not just macminute, it's any site I put in, like cnn, xtralean, macupdate, etc. It does it unless I enter in the actual site address...then after that I can put in say CNN and it'll go there.<br><br>This wasn't in Tiger.<br><br>
Posted by: Phosphor

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 11:49 AM

Check System Prefs--->Network--->Configure--->TCP/IP...<br>(The path may be slightly different in Leopard, but if you've been here before, you'll know it when you see it).<br><br>...And have a look at your DNS settings.<br><br>Try deleting anything there and enter these addresses:<br>208.67.222.222<br>208.67.220.220<br><br>
Posted by: OSXaddict

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 11:53 AM

Uh, not sure why going through my network settings would solve this? I prefer not to mess with the DNS settings until I know for sure that this would affect it.<br><br><br><br><br>
Posted by: Phosphor

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 12:02 PM

(At the risk of stating what might be obvious)<br>All the DNS settings are is servers which translate named sites into numerical addresses.<br><br>Those server addresses I gave you are reliable...from Cornell University, IIRC. It ain't no big deal to change them. You MAY have to reboot your modem and/or wireless hub after changing them. It can't hurt...just write down your current DNS address(es) in case you want to revert.<br><br><br>
Posted by: Trog

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 12:15 PM

I'm not experiencing that problem with Safari 3.<br><br>
Posted by: Phosphor

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 12:21 PM

<OL><B>"Uh, not sure why going through my network settings would solve this? I prefer not to mess with the DNS settings until I know for sure that this would affect it."</B></OL>It's possible there's some shenanigans going on, and your usual DNS server has been compromised, and is redirecting your requests.<br><br>
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 12:24 PM

I say it's a DNS thing too. Enter 4.2.2.3 in your Network TCP/IP prefs, click Apply Now, and see if that gets rid of it.<br><br>Don't worry about changing DNS, nothing will catch fire or blow up. I don't use my ISP's DNS servers, they have frequent lags and lack of connections. I used to use the 4.2.2.3 to 4.2.2.6 range. But since Sprint got bought out or merged or whatever, it seemed to drop off in quality. Recently I've been using Open DNS, very consistent.<br><br>------> JD's Trivia game<br><br>------> MCF-MM Trivia game
Posted by: Trog

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 12:42 PM

Interesting. Thought I'd try OpenDNS and I plugged them into my router. Nothing changed, in fact it doesn't appear to even be using their service (when I click to continue it says I haven't started using their service yet).<br><br>I then added those two addresses to the DNS in the advanced section of my System Preferences/Network/Ethernet pane. <br><br>Now when I type Macminute in the address bar I get this in Firefox:<br>http://guide.opendns.com/?url=macminute<br><br>But, Safari immediately takes me to Macminute.com<br><br>
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 12:58 PM

Did you set up an account there or just use the numbers?<br><br>------> JD's Trivia game<br><br>------> MCF-MM Trivia game
Posted by: Trog

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/04/07 01:15 PM

Oh, just the numbers. I thought they tracked whether I was using it through a cookie or something. Guess I have to sign up?<br><br>
Posted by: zwei

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/05/07 11:36 AM

No, you don't have to sign up unless you want some extra features like adult site blocking, browsing statistics, and the ability to create shortcuts to your favorite sites. For instance, you could set it up so when you type "MM" in your address bar and hit enter it will automatically direct you to the MacMinute forums. <br><br>All the things I listed above rely on you keeping your current IP address updated on the OpenDNS website. You can do this by manually going to your OpenDNS dashboard and updating it (tedius if your IP changes a lot) ...or you can download an app I made called OpenDNS Updater that does it for you automatically. (click on the zweisoft link in my sig to download it)<br><br>Whether you sign up for the extra features or not, OpenDNS is a great service. Not only is it a fast DNS server ...but you get phishing protection no matter what. How can you say no to that! <br><br>PS ..you can tell if you are on OpenDNS if the button below says "You're using OpenDNS" ...if you aren't it will say "Use OpenDNS! Get Started"<br><br><a title="Use OpenDNS to make your Internet faster, safer, and smarter." href="http://www.opendns.com/share/"><img src="http://images.opendns.com/buttons/use_opendns_155x52.gif" width="155" height="52" style="border:0;" alt="Use OpenDNS" /></a><br><br><br>zweisoft<br>
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/05/07 11:40 AM

Thanks for the clarification. I see now.<br><br>------> JD's Trivia game<br><br>------> MCF-MM Trivia game
Posted by: Trog

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/05/07 11:45 AM

Great, thanks for that information (and yes, it is showing that I'm using it now).<br><br>For whatever reason, as soon as I put those numbers in Little Snitch started going crazy with messages that:<br><br>"application wants to connect to 'myusername'.lv.cox.net on TCP port 443 (https)"<br><br>I'm not paranoid that it is causing unauthorized connections, but I have no idea what that is or why it would start doing that after changing the DNS IPs?<br><br>
Posted by: zwei

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/05/07 11:52 AM

Do you have ...THIS <br><br><br><br>zweisoft<br>
Posted by: zwei

Re: Why is this changed in Leopard? - 11/05/07 12:05 PM

Not sure why it would do that if you just put in the DNS IP addresses. I have had several people talk to me in regards to my application not working because Little Snitch was blocking outgoing communication on port 443 (it does the IP updates over a secure connection) ..but I'm not sure what information is being routed via https in your case.<br><br>Does it pop up that message every time you go to a different address?<br><br>zweisoft<br>