Software activation - what a hassle

Posted by: Bryan

Software activation - what a hassle - 04/04/05 01:01 PM

I was reading with great interest postings in another forum of people complaining about the forthcoming activation in CS2. Now granted, I am not a graphic designer and have no use for the software, but I have purchased other software that does use activation, and I hate it. <br><br>The problem is if you reinstall your OS a couple times a year as I do, then you have to go beg to the developer when you've exceeded whatever arbitrary limit they've decided is how many installations they're going to allow. <br><br>Use a serial number, use a dongle. But for crying out loud...software activation needs to go away...permanently. <br><br>
Posted by: hayesk

Re: Software activation - what a hassle - 04/04/05 04:16 PM

Just curious, but why do you reinstall your OS a couple of times in a year? There's really no need for it. Clearing cache files and rebinding is just as effective, and takes a lot less time.<br><br><br>
Posted by:

Re: Software activation - what a hassle - 04/04/05 04:23 PM

Which does a better job: cleaning around objects in your garage; or moving everything out into the driveway, cleaning it top to bottom and putting back only what you want? The former is easier, but the latter yields a cleaner and more organized garage.<br><br>
Posted by: snag

Re: Software activation - what a hassle - 04/04/05 04:25 PM

Why rebind? Not only is it done every time you use software update but each and every application will do the first time you run it if it hasn't be prebound before. All prebining does is speed up the launch of applications the first time you run them.<br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br>

Re: Software activation - what a hassle - 04/04/05 04:26 PM

Your operating system is far, far more complex than a garage. That's not a good analogy at all.<br><br>
Posted by: