Web Design

Posted by: Mcteak

Web Design - 10/16/02 12:14 PM

My daughter and I want to start a part-time web design business. She has a PC (I don't think I am her father) and talent, I have Macs and the software. I have designed a couple of basic sites for work and friends using Go Live. I guess what I am asking for is guidance, where to start, how to start, etc. Thanks.<br><br>
Posted by: MacGizmo

Re: Web Design - 10/16/02 12:22 PM

Well... first you need clients... and that's the hard part. Get your name out there. You will need a website of your own to show them what you can do. Links to other sites you have designed always help as well.<br><br>I will tell you this though. According to industry pubs, the call for web designers has gone through the floor. In fact, creativepro.com has an article about it on their website.<br><br>It makes me particularly nervous, as I am a graphic designer and I don't have a full time job right now, I'm freelancing from home. My intention was to get a job and freelance on the side like I did in Las Vegas. However, the market is very scary right now.<br><br>

Re: Web Design - 10/16/02 12:28 PM

Thanks for you feedback. Good luck in your job search. I am in HR and understand where you are coming from. I think most hiring markets are way down. I live in Wilmington, NC and this area has been hit hard with several plant closings and layoffs.<br><br>

Re: Web Design - 10/16/02 12:34 PM