Russian right-to-left?

Posted by: yoyo52

Russian right-to-left? - 06/20/02 09:02 AM

The MM main page says that Opera will be releasing browsers for right-to-left languages, including Hebrew, Arabic, and Russian. Russian?? Last I looked, Russian reads left-to-right. The alphabet isn't Roman, to be sure.<br><br>Great wits are sure to madness near allied.--John Dryden, "Absalom and Achitophel"
Posted by: Krasni

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/20/02 03:04 PM

The alphabet is cyrillic, but of course Russian reads left-to-right.<br><br>
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/20/02 06:43 PM

Right, it reads left to right just like English. Hard language to get a hang of. I can read some words because I learned the Cyrillic alphabet, but much beyond that I am at a loss. Pronunciation is also very important and has many, many nuances hard for a Westerner to pick up. <br><br>Spacibo<br><br>

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/20/02 07:47 PM

I studied Russian for a year in college, when I was a math major and thought I should learn Russian and German to be up in the field. Now almost 30 years later all I remember is the alphabet and a very little vocab. I did learn some German later, and still can read it a bit, though.<br><br>Great wits are sure to madness near allied.--John Dryden, "Absalom and Achitophel"

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/21/02 03:55 AM

Dann wirst Du wohl verstehen dass, USA keine Chance hat heute gegen Deutschland im World Cup! Hehe.<br><br>

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/21/02 07:05 AM

Ja, aber man hoffen kann.<br><br>Great wits are sure to madness near allied.--John Dryden, "Absalom and Achitophel"

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/21/02 06:06 PM

The US played a good game, but once the Germans had the goal their defense is what made the game for the German team. I don't think Germany will make it to the final match though, I'd guess either Spain or Brazil will take it in the end.<br><br>

Re: Russian right-to-left? - 06/21/02 09:25 PM