Mac Mini

Posted by: musicalmarv7

Mac Mini - 12/30/11 02:59 AM

In 2012 do you think the Mac Mini will be phased out or modified more?
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Mac Mini - 12/30/11 09:06 PM

I doubt they'll phase it out, and they'll always modify computers, right?

As it stands it's a low end MacBook Pro sans screen. Good deal. I'm getting one soon.

Re: Mac Mini - 12/31/11 04:12 AM

I have a chance to trade my MBA 11inch 64hd for a brand new mac mini.Would you go for that deal? thanks HAPPY NEW YEAR

Re: Mac Mini - 12/31/11 11:00 AM

Quote:
I have a chance to trade my MBA 11inch 64hd for a brand new mac mini.Would you go for that deal?
You're kind of comparing apples to oranges, one is a portable, the other isn't. I don't know how you use your MBA so I can't say, that is sort of a personal preference. For example, although it may work for you, I never would have bought an MBA as my main computer as it wouldn't suit my needs for a number of reasons.

If the MBA always sits in the same spot on a desk and you never use it in front of the TV etc or take it out of the house to use elsewhere you really don't need something portable.

You'll also need a monitor, keyboard and mouse with the Mini. The Mini can hold more RAM, the processor is faster, has a bigger HD although not an SSD, and has more ports.

But again it's not portable. Only you can judge if you need/want the portability.
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: Mac Mini - 01/01/12 05:24 AM

My Mini is definitely desk bound. I'm thinking that an iPad would satisfy my mobility needs while keeping my Mini as the main computer.

Re: Mac Mini - 01/02/12 03:11 AM

Yes my MBA sits on a desk all day.Going nowhere.It is to dangerous where I live to carry it to various wi fi spots here in the Philippines.That is my problem here. Thanks

Re: Mac Mini - 01/02/12 03:12 AM

Did you ever have any breakdown problems with your Mac Mini? thanks

Re: Mac Mini - 01/02/12 03:29 AM

Originally Posted By: musicalmarv7