Windows gaming on Macs?

Posted by: Acumowchek

Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 01:02 PM

Something very strange happened to me today.

Three unrelated people I know just told me they want to buy their first Mac.
They are asking my opinion on what they should buy (iMac).
All three used to be VERY anti-Mac and VERY pro-Windows.
But they all see what I have been doing for the last several years, and they hate Vista and are fed up with patches.

My only hesitation is that they all play games.
What games? I don't know, I'm not a gamer.

QUESTION: Are you gaming people happy using Windows games through virtualization?
I thought there was something like DirectX or whatever, that couldn't be emulated.
Is it safe to tell these people they can play their games through Windows on a Mac?
Posted by: John Rougeux

Re: Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 01:06 PM

Good question! I have wondered about this myself.

Probably the BEST way to play Windows games on a Mac would be through BootCamp.

But I too wonder how Emulation would be and which emulator would be best.
Posted by: zwei

Re: Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 01:16 PM

BootCamp is the answer for them. No limitations.

Re: Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 03:01 PM

So, emulation is not good with gaming?

Re: Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 03:03 PM

OK, COOL!
Does BootCamp require a separate partition to run Windows?

I'm sure I'll be setting everything up for them.
That's my only hesitation about recommending Macs to people.
Tech support for life!

Ah well. That's what I have you guys for!
laugh

Thanks for the replies!

Re: Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 03:06 PM

Yeah, a separate partition is needed I think.

Zwei, can you install bootcamp on a external HD?

Re: Windows gaming on Macs? - 01/15/09 03:07 PM

Yes, it requires a separate partition (unless you are on a Mac Pro ...then you can designate a separate HD)

The bootcamp assistant sets everything up for you. It's easy peasy.