SCSI help PLEASE

Posted by: choker

SCSI help PLEASE - 02/24/13 11:58 AM

I have been using a UMAX POWERLOOK III scanner tied to my G4 Mac
Problem noe is the G4 Died.
My wife has a G5 (obviously not SCSI) and I am hoping there is some way to add some type of board so I can continue to use the UMAX.
I tried Ratoc Scsi to Fwire adapter to no avail.
Anyone know how I can avoid trashing a perfectly GOOD flatbed scanner?
Internet searches reveal nothing.
ANY SUGGESTIONS
choker
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/24/13 12:50 PM

What scanning software and version of OS X is she running. Exactly which model of G5. In System Profiler Looking for Model Identifier PowerMac7,2 PowerMac7,3 PowerMac9,1 or PowerMac11,2. There may also be something like Order Number M9xxxLL.
Posted by: choker

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/24/13 04:27 PM

Model Name: Power Mac G5
Model Identifier: PowerMac11,2
Processor Name: PowerPC G5 (1.1)
Processor Speed: 2.3 GHz
Number Of CPUs: 2
L2 Cache (per CPU): 1 MB
Memory: 4.5 GB
Bus Speed: 1.15 GHz
Boot ROM Version: 5.2.7f1

10.5.8
VueScan 8.3.33
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/24/13 04:41 PM

Just to make sure of the connections, is this the the back end?

Open image in new tab/window to embiggen.

Posted by: choker

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 10:23 AM

That Be the Animal
That picture shows it with the transperency cover
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:22 AM

It would be much cheaper just to get a new USB or FireWire scanner. It would also be something you can use down the road if you ever have to get a new computer.

The only PCIe I can find for now is an ATTO EPCI-UL5D-L00. They run around $350 if you shop around. You would also need an adapter cable to go from the scanner to the different port on the card. So for what's looking like a $400 or so investment, you can buy a really nice FireWire or USB scanner.

The Umax has 1200x2400 optical resolution so keep that in mind when looking for a new one, optical resolution.

Your only other option is to try to find a SCSI to FireWire adapter that will actually work. Sorry but I don't have any recommendations for those. All of the ones I've seen are flaky, they work with some set ups but not with others.
Posted by: steveg

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:24 AM

Here's some info. Probably not the answers you were hoping for, though.

BTW, that scanner looks exactly like the Agfa scanner I had years ago which I used with my G4. Eventually the power supply failed and I moved from SCSII to FireWire. You may have to do the same (or USB). You can find good used Epson and HP scanners on CraigsList for cheap.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:25 AM

You can also replace the old G4 with another for probably about 50 bucks. If the hard drive is still good in the old G4, all you have to do is move it from there to the new one.

If you lived nearby I'd be glad to get rid of one of these that I've got laying around just to get them out of here.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:28 AM

I am always looking to defray the cost of a new item by selling the old one.
I looked on Ebay and there have been 3 sold in the last month for 45/50 and 112 dollars.
Good luck.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:34 AM

I would bite the bullet and get a new one.
Firstly, its new. What happens if you buy an expensive adapter... and the scanner dies?

2nd.. I don't know the specs of the UMAX but you may end up with a better machine.. better bit depth/color/resolution.
And the new one will have a warranty and you won't have to deal with the headache of trying to make it work.

If you want to get out as cheap as possible... I would hunt down another G4.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:36 AM

None of these fix your problem?

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_trksid=p...0&_from=R40
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 11:56 AM

Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Nothing in the link.

The last gen G5 machines were PCI Express/PCIe. There wasn't much made for those that works in OS X.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 12:27 PM

Works for me..

Lemme try again.

http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_odkw=sig...g5&_sacat=0
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 01:31 PM

Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Okay, I was on the phone, it works from a browser. The only one that is PCIe though is the HP and I doubt that it has OS X drivers. Apple took out native SCSI support with 10.5.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 01:34 PM

Ah.... oh well.
Best of luck getting this dinosaur to work!
Posted by: Jim_

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 01:48 PM

Yeah, that's why after doing a little research I realized that a used G4 or a new scanner was the way to go.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/25/13 02:27 PM

I'm just here as your back up.... laugh
Posted by: choker

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/27/13 04:09 PM

I was afraid there would be no practical options.
I guess it's either find a good used G4 or buy another scanner.
Cross those bridges down the road.
Thanks for your input.
Posted by: choker

Re: SCSI help PLEASE - 02/27/13 04:14 PM

Thanks for the backup