Studio Display monitor

Posted by: papabill

Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 05:50 AM

I know this is probagly a stupid question, but is there any trick to hooking up a "Studio Display" (M7649) monitor?

I plug it in, and it's supposed to come on, right? Well, I've tried 2 different cards, and still nothing. Thought there might be a magic way.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 07:13 AM

Are we sure it's a working monitor?
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 07:16 AM

Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Are we sure it's a working monitor?


Nope, we're not. The guy I bought it from said it was dontated to him, so he gave me all my money back. Just hoping there was something I wasn't doing right. If it worked, I was gonna pay him the full price. Oh, well, I'll put it on eBay for parts for .99 + shipping (along with the dozens I already see there)
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 08:28 AM

Does the slot the card plugs into on the mother board have an extra little slot thingy towards the back of the case?

In other words does the little tab on the left of the pic below have a place to plug into on the mother board? Open in new tabs or windows to make bigger.



You can see the extra slot for the little tab in this pic. That's the power for the monitor.



As compared to this pic. It's the first generation AGP G4, they can't run an ADC monitor.

Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 09:08 AM

I thought he said the card already has an ADC connector...no?


Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 09:12 AM

I just checked, that monitor won't work with your model of G4, M7825LL/A, it is a first gen AGP, no ADC power connector on the mobo.

The monitor is probably still good.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 09:19 AM

Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
I thought he said the card already has an ADC connector...no?

The card has the ADC output, and the extra connector/tab where the card plugs into the mobo for ADC power, but there is no slot on the mobo for the ADC power tab. The card will plug in fine to the AGP slot, but the ADC power tab will just be hanging free. The VGA, or DVI connector, whichever it has, will work, it just can't power an ADC monitor.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 09:34 AM

When you posted the specs for the G4 I didn't know you had an Apple ADC monitor already, I would have told you to go for the next step up, sorry.

Let's make sure you get a monitor that will work. Didn't you get a card from NG4? The stock card will work with either DVI or VGA.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/13/10 10:23 AM

I dont have a card.. I have an ADC/DVI adapter..the huge, expensive one.
Posted by: trey

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 09:41 AM

Quote:
I dont have a card.. I have an ADC/DVI adapter..the huge, expensive one.


Would you like to get rid of that?
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 11:20 AM

Let me check.. I have 2 and want to keep 1 for back up. The other has a cosmetic issue if I remember correctly. I think the plastic had come off one of the connectors or something. I'm headed home in an hour and will check.
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 11:33 AM

Originally Posted By: Reboot
I just checked, that monitor won't work with your model of G4, M7825LL/A, it is a first gen AGP, no ADC power connector on the mobo. The monitor is probably still good.
When you posted the specs for the G4 I didn't know you had an Apple ADC monitor already, I would have told you to go for the next step up, sorry.

Not your fault. I gave away that monitor and bought another. So now it's not going to work either. Plus, I purchased another video card JUST TO MAKE SURE!!

It is a good thing it has a VGA connector, cause that's what I'm having to use. But it works fine.
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 11:39 AM

My G4 tower worked with the Apple 17" Studio Display (CRT) both with the stock Vid card and with the Radeon 8500 Mac Edition AGP vid card. My Viewsonic 19" LCD display worked with the 8500 since it had a DVI connector built in. You might want to check eBay for one of those. Make sure that it is the Mac version.
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 11:49 AM

Nah, I'm out of money-done spent my ice cream bar money for the next several months on that monitor and video card. Gonna have to save up again and do with what I have.
Posted by: trey

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 06:47 PM

That would be cool... I have an old 17" Apple monitor that's laying around collecting dust. I'd love to get rid of my CRT monitor so that next time I post a picture of beers, Reboot doesn't make fun of me. wink
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 06:53 PM

I found one but it was missing the power cord. I have another but it will proly be later in the week before I get to it.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/15/10 08:29 PM

Originally Posted By: trey
That would be cool... I have an old 17" Apple monitor that's laying around collecting dust. I'd love to get rid of my CRT monitor so that next time I post a picture of beers, Reboot doesn't make fun of me. wink
grin
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/16/10 12:02 PM

Originally Posted By: trey
That would be cool... I have an old 17" Apple monitor that's laying around collecting dust. I'd love to get rid of my CRT monitor so that next time I post a picture of beers, Reboot doesn't make fun of me. wink


Are you SURE that Reboot won't make fun of you??? He might just make up something...
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/16/10 12:30 PM

Originally Posted By: papabill
Originally Posted By: trey
That would be cool... I have an old 17" Apple monitor that's laying around collecting dust. I'd love to get rid of my CRT monitor so that next time I post a picture of beers, Reboot doesn't make fun of me. wink
Are you SURE that Reboot won't make fun of you??? He might just make up something...
I don't make things up, I just call them as I see them. grin
Posted by: carp

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/16/10 12:43 PM

Originally Posted By: Reboot
Originally Posted By: papabill
Originally Posted By: trey
That would be cool... I have an old 17" Apple monitor that's laying around collecting dust. I'd love to get rid of my CRT monitor so that next time I post a picture of beers, Reboot doesn't make fun of me. wink
Are you SURE that Reboot won't make fun of you??? He might just make up something...
I don't make things up, I just call them as I see them. grin


And thats making stuff up laugh

No - really glad to see you all helping out Bill.
Posted by: trey

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/17/10 09:06 AM

Quote:
I found one but it was missing the power cord.


BTW, is it just a regular power cord? I'm guessing not, since it's an Apple product.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/17/10 07:49 PM

Naw.. it ends at the brick in a 3 cylinder plug.

Looks like this..
http://www.sunsetmac.com/apple-power-cord-c-74/apple-power-cord-for-adc-dvi-adapter-922-5035-p-623
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/17/10 09:12 PM

I believe a Mac mini or an iMac G4 lampshade cord would work too.

Probably the old yoyo iBook power cord too.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/17/10 09:22 PM

YoYo had an iBook?
Thanks...I'll ask him if he has an extra.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/17/10 09:26 PM

Ha ha ha. Wise guy, huh?

grin
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 05:22 AM

Originally Posted By: Reboot
the old yoyo


I resemble that!
Posted by: trey

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 05:22 AM

Damn... I threw one of those away a few months ago. Oops! blush
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 05:39 AM

Seriously, though, let me see if I have one of those hidden away somewhere.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 08:11 AM

I may have one. I am so slammed right now that I can't take the time to look.
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 08:44 AM

If this is what you're looking for, I've got it.



Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 11:58 AM

Okay, I'm under the weather. Cold meds. Hope I got the cords right.

NG4, does the converter have the ground prong.

yoyo, does the cord have the hole in the ground prong or is it filled in with plastic.
Posted by: carp

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 12:33 PM

Okay, I'm under the weather. Cold meds

Bummer
Get better soon, we don't want ya to end up like the cat in your avatar laugh
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 01:00 PM

Originally Posted By: carp
Okay, I'm under the weather. Cold meds

Bummer
Get better soon, we don't want ya to end up like the cat in your avatar laugh
LOL. Old fat and lazy? Too late. grin
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 02:02 PM

HEY!!! I'm the one who's old, fat, and lazy!!
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 04:06 PM

Filled ground.
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 05:59 PM

Are you asking if the female receptacle has a pin in the recess to be received by a hole in of the 3 cylinders?
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/18/10 07:24 PM

Originally Posted By: NucleusG4
Are you asking if the female receptacle has a pin in the recess to be received by a hole in of the 3 cylinders?
If you meant to say "a hole in all of the 3 cylinders," yes.

Carnac knows. grin
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/19/10 03:58 AM

Carnac? Jeeezzzz... you are old.
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/19/10 04:34 AM

I think he meant the temple. In Egypt. Usually spelled with "k"s, but who's counting. He probably helped design it.
Posted by: carp

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/19/10 10:57 AM

I'll stay out of this one laugh
Posted by: NucleusG4

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/19/10 11:58 AM

Hmmm.. I think he meant the Johnny Carson persona called Carnac.

Carnac the Magnificent.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carnac_the_Magnificent
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/19/10 12:26 PM

I know I know. But still . . .
Posted by: trey

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/20/10 01:10 PM

LOLOL! I sat here for a few minutes today thinking about this thing with the monitor and the adapter and stuff, and I came to an important realization... it's my PowerMac at WORK that has the two DVI connectors. My one has the ADC and DVI! Oops

Thanks for digging around in your stuff guys. I owe all of you a round.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/20/10 05:10 PM

Originally Posted By: yoyo52
I think he meant the temple. In Egypt. Usually spelled with "k"s, but who's counting. He probably helped design it.
Just caught this. Funny guy.

Like I would know that k temple thing anyway, but thanks, I think.
Posted by: padmavyuha

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/21/10 02:58 AM

Carnac is in France!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carnac_stones
Posted by: Papa

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/21/10 09:10 AM

Only in the rat infested, flea bitten hallowed halls of this forum could a discussion of monitors turn into a discussion of late night comedy, Egyptian temples, and the geography of France.
Posted by: padmavyuha

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/24/10 03:56 AM

We strive for diversity grin.
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/24/10 05:56 AM

Originally Posted By: Reboot
You can see the extra slot for the little tab in this pic. That's the power for the monitor.

Which motherboard is this, and will it work in this machine?
Posted by: papabill

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/25/10 09:25 AM

Originally Posted By: papabill
Which motherboard is this, and will it work in this machine?


I found the information I was needing on another forum, so since everyone is mad at me here, I guess I'll haunt that other one instead. Have a safe holiday season, everyone. God bless all for all your help.
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: Studio Display monitor - 11/25/10 09:41 AM

I seriously doubt that anyone is angry with you here.