why is my dual 1gighrtz support only ata66?

Posted by: trend

why is my dual 1gighrtz support only ata66? - 02/05/06 01:25 AM

I just purchased:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5862814789
which is a dual 1gighrtz with 1.5gigs of ram and 10/100/1000 nic ...
but if I am reading right.. it only supports ata66... Does this make any sense? Hopefully my source is wrong.
Why would you have a 1000mbit NIC and only have ata66? Doesn't seem right.

Am I off? because I really believe ata100 would provide a far superior perforance boost... right?

thanks
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

why is my dual 1gighrtz support only ata66? - 02/05/06 01:52 AM

That is a 2002 Quicksilver and it does indeed have gigabit ethernet and ATA66. First PowerMac with ATA100 was the MDD.

You may well notice the difference between these two speeds if you were to upgrade, which you can easily do via an ATA PCI card. Get one with ATA133 and hardware RAID if you want it really fast.
Posted by: maestro

why is my dual 1gighrtz support only ata66? - 02/05/06 09:32 AM

I would go with Sata. Its actually cheaper and easier to route the cables. Ata 66 is only going to slow the fastest drives down. Until recently, there were not very many drives that could actually hit 66mbs. There are none that hit 100 or 133mbs. If you are really concerned, pick up a Seritek pci Sata card from Firmtek.

By the way, you can use ata100/133 drives on the ata66 bus.
Posted by: trend

why is my dual 1gighrtz support only ata66? - 02/05/06 12:21 PM

At the bottom of the ebay listing.. it says:
http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g4/stats/powermac_g4_1ghz_dp_qs.html

Which I assume is my new Mac.. And in that it says:
8. Ultra160 SCSI drives are also available.

Would that be applicable? Because, if so.. I will just buy an ultra160 15k rpm hd smile

thanks again guys!
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

why is my dual 1gighrtz support only ata66? - 02/05/06 11:34 PM

You'll have to wait and see if there is a SCSI card in it. It was a CTO option I believe but probably shipped SCSI as standard with the server version of the machine.