My chip doesn\'t fit the board

Posted by: iBookdude458

My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 12:39 PM

I got my G4 board finally and my chip doesn't fit ontoit. the connectoris the same but the chip is too big. can anyone tell what kind of board it is and what kind of chip i can get so i can start my mod. I have some very high resolution photos of the board. the audio ports are aligned vertically i think it could be an agp graphics or a DA board. much help will be appreciated.
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 12:44 PM

fors some reason my images aren't showing up can some one tell how to get the to work
Posted by: maestro

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 12:50 PM

The images need to be smaller. When you try and fail to upload one, the image editor will tell you the size you need. I do know it can be a pain in the rear though. I uploaded a ton of images and still have difficulty sometimes. Im guessing you are puttin a newer G4 daughterboard in an older G4. That will cause some issues with the ata connector and the heatisnk needs to be cut too. Try your pics again and well see whats up.

-maestro
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:04 PM

heres the first picture

heres is the info printed on the motherboard

Apple Computer Inc
820-1094-A Copyright 2000
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:10 PM

oops placed the same one heres thenext one
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:13 PM

heres the last one please look over all of the images and text
Posted by: maestro

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:28 PM

Thats a sawtooth agp board. Its the first "real G4" motherboard. Some of the newer CPU daughterboard interfer as I said before. Got a pic of the cpu? What speed is the cpu by the way?

-maestro
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:45 PM

heres the processor
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:46 PM

next one
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:48 PM

next
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:49 PM

Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:51 PM

Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:53 PM

Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 02:56 PM

heres the last one the speed is 500 i think

i'll give the information here

* XG12306VJWBA * USA PCBA MPU VGER A

Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 05:37 PM

hey guys help me out here
Posted by: anil8tor

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 05:43 PM

OK, if you pop off the protective cover on the ziff, whats the problem? It is larger than the ziff socket on the maneboard? Or dont the screw holes line up? what exactly won't fit?
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/28/06 05:48 PM

The whole daughter card is too big the connecter is the right size. the card is too long it hits the IDE bus connector
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/29/06 01:05 AM

The board is either an AGP Sawtooth or a gigabit ethernet. The Sawtooth has an internal firewire port on one corner (Same corner as the external firewire.) Its not there on the Gig-E. Can't see it on your pic, so I guess you have a Gig-E board.

Here is a good pic of the Sawtooth board for you to compare:

http://4daystar.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=227

If your CPU is a 500, that would fit my conclusion. Only the Sawtooth had a single 500MHz. The 500MHz Gig-E was a dual proc. The Sawtooth chip should run as far as I know, but like you say, the IDE is in the way.

Good news is you can get a dual CPU for it.
Posted by: soward

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/29/06 07:17 AM

Still kinda hard to tell from those pics, but looks like maybe that processor card is for a QS, where the processor card socket is at the back of the board, closer to the network and other connectors?
Posted by: iBookdude458

Re:My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 01/29/06 08:23 AM

its a sawtooth board. its got the internal firewire in the corner with the external firewire. The chip is definately not from a Q.S. The chip came out of one of the grophite colored g4s. i'm not sure of what model but the chip is dated 2001. What is the internal firewire port for anyway.
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 02/03/06 04:19 PM

As far as I know, its just an ordinary firewire port. No idea why it on the inside, never seen one used. Maybe thats why the later ones didn't have it.

2001 would make it a Digital Audio or Quicksilver chip. If you've ruled out QS, DA is the one.
Posted by: maestro

My chip doesn\'t fit the board - 02/05/06 09:37 AM

Ok, for the last time I will give my suggestion. Cut the ide connector off, besides getting a new cpu, that is the only solution. You are trying to put a DA G4 cpu on a Sawtooth board and that just doesnt work without some modding. Sorry to break it to ya.