ST3160812A Seagate HD

Posted by: dmfett

ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 11:20 AM

Will the ST3160812A Seagate work in the cube without doing anything other than putting it in...<br><br>Any heat issues?<br><br>Need a HD ASAP<br><br>Is there a better seagates to use? with out doing anything except putting it in...<br><br>
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 11:52 AM

Should not be a problem. I have an '026A and a '814A installed in my G4 Sawtooth tower. They are very quiet, too.<br><br>
Posted by: OSXaddict

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 12:04 PM

According to Everymac.com:<br><br>Powermac G4 Cube:<br><br>Ultra ATA/66 (ATA-5)<br>Details: *Originally configured with a 30 GB (5400 RPM) hard drive, but it also could be configured with a 40 GB (5400 RPM) or 60 GB (7200 RPM) hard drive. Drives larger than 128 GB are not supported.<br><br>
Posted by: dmfett

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 12:32 PM

So does that mean that the HD will not work?<br><br>I need to replace it with a 120GB like I had in it...<br><br>I have a ST3120024A in it now and its making noise when spinning off...love it but seagate said there is no 120GB like it any more...<br><br>They said the one in this post is the one to use..<br><br>
Posted by: SgtBaxter

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 12:55 PM

The drive will work, but you will only see 128GB. This is a limitation of the ATA controller in the computer.<br><br><br><br>Hey I'm an F'n Jerk!
Posted by: dmfett

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 01:10 PM

So It looks like I will use it and will at lease get a bit more GB from the 120 now in the cube...<br><br>Will there be a time I will have to change the entire inside to get a HD in it...seems like its happing now with not being able to get a seagate 120 HD any more...<br><br>What will I have to do to keep the Cube running ?<br><br>
Posted by: OSXaddict

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 02:23 PM

External drives?<br><br>
Posted by: dmfett

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 02:40 PM

Just thinking for a year or so down the road...Need to keep OS 9.9.2 up & running as I have a few things that could not move over to OS 10.4.10....<br><br>I have many newsletters that are in claris works and when moved to apple works it messes them all up...So I have to fix them to be OS 10 workable...also I am still using claris home page 3.0 for my web page and need to more to something cheep (sort of played with NVU) <br><br>I really llike the cube!<br><br>
Posted by: OSXaddict

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 02:59 PM

<br><br>You MUST like the cube a lot. I think it's cool and would like to have one just to say I have one, but they are dinosaurs.<br><br>A few things that could not move over to OSX? Like what?<br><br>Claris Works newsletters...you send these out or something? Can't update to Pages or something else like NeoOffice?<br><br>NVU? Not familiar with that. Why not try iWeb or Shutterbug a try? I can't imagine what your site looks like.<br><br>
Posted by: Jim_

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 03:15 PM

<blockquote><font size=1>In reply to:</font><hr><p>but seagate said there is no 120GB like it any more<p><hr></blockquote><p>??????<br><br>http://www.pricescan.com/items/item171718.asp<br><br>------> JD's Trivia game<br><br>------> MCF-MM Trivia game
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: ST3160812A Seagate HD - 10/17/07 05:40 PM

I forgot about that limit. Both of my drives are 120s.<br><br>