Adobe: All rental, all the time ...

Posted by: six_of_one

Adobe: All rental, all the time ... - 05/06/13 12:04 PM

Well, looks like if you want to keep up-to-date with Adobe apps, you're no longer able to purchase a perpetual license -- it's all subscription-based now ...

I won't deny that since I make my living using a good deal of this software, I'm more than a little ambivalent about having to pay a monthly fee in order to keep using it. Fortunately, I have the latest CS6, which although not EOL'd, apparently won't be updated any further. We'll see how long I can hold out ;-)

Still, a sad day -- the march towards renting apps moves apace =P
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: Adobe: All rental, all the time ... - 05/06/13 12:25 PM

BOGUS!
Posted by: steveg

Re: Adobe: All rental, all the time ... - 05/06/13 03:10 PM

SH¡T! I hate that. mad
Posted by: garyW

Re: Adobe: All rental, all the time ... - 05/06/13 03:53 PM

I'm still using CS4 …. I think I should probably purchase CS6 before they're gone frown

So, Adobe is going to charge $50/mo for each app with their CC plan …. to use PS, ID and AI is going to be $150./mo????

If I buy CS6 now they're not going to license me …. meaning what exactly?

Re: Adobe: All rental, all the time ... - 05/06/13 04:09 PM

Quote:
So, Adobe is going to charge $50/mo for each app with their CC plan …. to use PS, ID and AI is going to be $150./mo????

No no, the $50/month is for *everything* ... which if you use a lot of the different apps (or want to learn some new ones), isn't actually that bad of a deal. That is, until you realize that if you used to upgrade the suite (about $600-$800 iirc) every two years, which is about what Adobe's cycle was, they now have you essentially paying about the equivalent of a full boat Master Collection purchase ($1,200) every two years instead ...

And, of course, it's even worse if you skipped a version upgrade or two ...