utilities apps

Posted by: musicalmarv7

utilities apps - 03/28/10 06:29 AM

I am new to mac as yesterday I accidentally deleted the apps folder which was located in the dock.I then retrieved it by dragging it from the home folder to the dock it worked. My problem is the utilities apps I cannot get to open in the dock when I try to open it.It keeps copying these items which I know is wrong. How do I drag the utility apps into the apps folder in the dock? My Hd does not show in the screen it is hidden.I try and try with no success at all. Please help me J
Posted by: yoyo52

Re: utilities apps - 03/28/10 08:01 AM

I'm not sure what you're asking. The utilities folder is inside the Applications folder, and should show up in the Applications icon on the dock. If you want to have a separate icon on the dock for the utilities, just drag the utilities folder to the dock. You can choose to have the HD show up on the desktop if you wish. While you're in the Finder, go to the Finder menu up in the left corner of the menu bar. The preferences are in the second menu item. When you open the preferences, go to the General tab, and select the things you want to show up on your desktop. The first item there is the hard disk.

Incidentally, you could drag the HD image to the dock as well. That's kind of overkill, for my tastes.

Re: utilities apps - 03/29/10 03:51 AM

Thanks I understand now. What i did was make a new folder and copy all utilities in the new folder. Dragged it into my documents folder and it works fine now. This takes me a little bit of getting use to know as i am 65 yrs old and not that quick as I use to be.What Mac do you use may I ask? J

Re: utilities apps - 03/29/10 06:20 AM