command line hdiutil fails backup on Time Mach

Posted by: shizny

command line hdiutil fails backup on Time Mach - 06/23/09 01:25 PM

Hello,

I would like to create a backup of my time machine backed volume on my external harddrive. I'm using, and would like to use, command line for some scripting purposes. Here is my command

sudo hdiutil create -ov -srcfolder /Volumes/Time\ Machine\ BU/ /Volumes/Additional\ Client\ Data/wolffeBackup.dmg

my Time machine backup is on one partition of my external harddrive. I want to create the disk image to the other partition. This is the error message I'm getting.

2009-06-23 15:19:47.079 copy-helper[1064:10b] bomCopierFileCopyError:/Volumes/Time Machine BU 1/Backups.backupdb/shizny’s MacBook Pro 15"/2009-06-23-151028/WolffeBrothers/.com.apple.timemachine.supported, error 1
2009-06-23 15:19:47.080 copy-helper[1064:10b] Error 1 (Operation not permitted) encountered copying "/Volumes/Time Machine BU/Volumes/Time Machine BU 1/Backups.backupdb/shizny’s MacBook Pro 15"/2009-06-23-151028/WolffeBrothers/.com.apple.timemachine.supported" (canceling)
could not access /Volumes/Time Machine BU 1/Backups.backupdb/shizny’s MacBook Pro 15"/2009-06-23-151028/WolffeBrothers/.com.apple.timemachine.supported - Operation not permitted


Anybody know why the disk image fails to be created?

Thanks in advance,
Josh
Posted by: shizny

hdiutil fails on diskimage of Time Machine - 06/24/09 11:23 AM

Hello,

I would like to create a backup of my time machine backed volume on my external harddrive. I'm using, and would like to use, command line for some scripting purposes. Here is my command

sudo hdiutil create -ov -srcfolder /Volumes/Time\ Machine\ BU/ /Volumes/Additional\ Client\ Data/wolffeBackup.dmg

my Time machine backup is on one partition of my external harddrive. I want to create the disk image to the other partition. This is the error message I'm getting.

2009-06-23 15:19:47.079 copy-helper[1064:10b] bomCopierFileCopyError:/Volumes/Time Machine BU 1/Backups.backupdb/shizny’s MacBook Pro 15"/2009-06-23-151028/WolffeBrothers/.com.apple.timemachine.supported, error 1
2009-06-23 15:19:47.080 copy-helper[1064:10b] Error 1 (Operation not permitted) encountered copying "/Volumes/Time Machine BU/Volumes/Time Machine BU 1/Backups.backupdb/shizny’s MacBook Pro 15"/2009-06-23-151028/WolffeBrothers/.com.apple.timemachine.supported" (canceling)
could not access /Volumes/Time Machine BU 1/Backups.backupdb/shizny’s MacBook Pro 15"/2009-06-23-151028/WolffeBrothers/.com.apple.timemachine.supported - Operation not permitted


Anybody know why the disk image fails to be created?

Thanks in advance,
Josh
Posted by: Jim_

Re: command line hdiutil fails backup on Time Mach - 06/24/09 03:06 PM

It's probably something to do with special permissions that Apple puts on its Time Machine backups.backupdb. I tried copying one of the backup folders, (2009-06-18-135821) to another drive and it wouldn't let me. It asked for a password at first, but then gave an error -50, couldn't do it. It made an empty 2009-06-18-135821 folder but the folder was not writable so it couldn't copy the contents.

I am curious though as to why you want to make a backup image to the same drive as the source material. If the drive goes bad, both backups are gone. It's just another partition, not another physical drive, so it's not really a backup of the backup.

HTH
Posted by: shizny

Re: command line hdiutil fails backup on Time Mach - 06/25/09 08:32 AM

Thanks for the reply. I want to make a backup of that backup on the other partition so I'm not "touching" the hard drive I'm working on and then I'm going to rsync that backup to a server so if the BU hard drive fails I've got a remote copy of it.

Posted by: Mc Zep

Re: command line hdiutil fails backup on Time Mach - 09/06/09 02:38 PM

One thing i found that seems to work is to use Disk Utility to make an image of my Time machine backup disk. I also found instructions to use it to do a Restore function w/ my OS install disk and put that on the disk w/ my time machine backups. So then I DiskImage the whole thing and put it on a TB drive (its 36GB of apps and fresh system install. I have only tested mounting the disk image (Start up Disk selector confirms the mounted image is bootable) but need to go for broke and restore it to my original FW drive and see if that works and ultimately wipe my system and see if it reinstalls everything properly. Hope that is of use.