Dlink wireless extender

Posted by: Acumowchek

Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 03:09 PM

I give up.
I'm trying to extend my wireless network wit an Airport Extreme.
First, I'm pissed that AE doesn't cover the whole house, so I bought a Dlink DAP-1320 wireless extender.
Naturally, the only instructions are for Windows.
Instruction #2 is to press the WPS button on my router. AE doesn't have a button.
I see the dlink in my wireless networks, but it doesn't connect.
The dlink is only blinking amber, and it's in the same room as my AE.
Trying to log in through Firefox, to set up the dlink times out every time.
What am I doing wrong? cry
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 04:03 PM

Make sure it is reset to factory settings. Press and hold the reset button on the bottom of the device for 5 seconds.

Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 05:29 PM

All of the above.
I had it for a minute there, but in the middle of entering my info, I was disconnected. Couple of hours of resets to get back to normal, but dlink still isn't working.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 07:02 PM

Reboot.
The Man.
The Myth.
The Legend.

Thank you so much for the help.

I'll see what I can bug you with tomorrow. cool
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 07:28 PM

Once we used the iPhone to configure, the technology fused.

Trying to connect the same way using Mavericks didn't compute. Seems the 10.9 wireless rumors may hold true.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 08:43 PM

Agreed.
Used to be, I plugged it in, entered info, andů Done.
Not so easy, anymore.

Part of the problem is Mac marginalization.
My current ISP Mac support info is 10.5.
The dlink info is Windows only.
Apple manuals aren't much better. smirk

Of course, it would be much easier if I knew what I was doing.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: Dlink wireless extender - 12/08/13 11:17 PM

Quote:
Of course, it would be much easier if I knew what I was doing.
Possibly. smirk

Actually the instructions were for WPS, which airport supports for printers only, or you can use a web interface, whether it be windows or Mac. I still think the problem was with the wireless in Mavericks, since when we used your phone we were able to connect to the web interface to configure the dlink.