MobileMe Domain Transfer

Posted by: Acumowchek

MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/24/12 07:33 PM

Okay, so I have a client that I've been hosting their website through MobileMe.
Decided to transfer to 000webhost.com because it's free.
Domain is owned through Lycos (Remember them?).
I'm supposed to enter new "nameservers", supplied by 000webhost to transfer the directory(?) from MobileMe to 000webhost.com.
The problem is Lycos doesn't know what I'm talking about.
I'm still waiting to hear from them.
Any web Gurus know what I'm talking about?
Any help appreciated.

Edit: Not sure where to post this.
We need more sub forums.
wink
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/24/12 09:12 PM

I can't believe Lycos doesn't know what DNS is. I'd suggest transferring to another registrar, but not sure if they could figure that out.

Can you log into your Lycos account/Control Panel? You should be able to change the DNS etc records there.

Did 000webhost give you the CNAME and MX info for email also or is your customer going to stick with me.com
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/24/12 09:41 PM

Disclaimer: I know just enough to be dangerous.

Yes, I logged onto Lycos CP and found the DNS page.
That's when I found out about CNAME, MX, and a bunch of other #$@! that I didn't know wha? to do.
000 didn't give me anything but the generic "nameservers" copy and paste.
Maybe I should make this their problem.

Thanks, Jim
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 05:56 AM

If they're going to continue to use Apple's email address the only thing you have to change in Lycos is the DNS/nameserver entries. The MX and CNAME are only if they will be using yourpeople.com's mail servers. If not whatever you have there can just stay. Just curious, what is there now for MX and CNAME?

I did a quick check on 000. As long as your people don't go over quotas they'll be okay, but 000 will charge if you go over 1.5G disk space or 100G per month transfer. Do some googling on 000webhost review. Mixed reviews, some love some hate, typical internet stuff. smile
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 06:23 AM

Is it okay to post a screen shot of the control panel?
There doesn't seem to be any private info.

They don't use any Mac services. Hosting it on MobileMe was my brilliant idea.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 08:37 AM

Originally Posted By: Acumowchek
Is it okay to post a screen shot of the control panel?
There doesn't seem to be any private info.
Yeah, all DNS and mail records are public info anyway.

Quote:
They don't use any Mac services. Hosting it on MobileMe was my brilliant idea.
What do they use for email addresses. theirdomain.com or theirISP.com?

You can post the @whatever.com here, don't post the name before @ though. Just want to make sure that you don't have to change mail server records so let me know if it's their domain or ISP or whatever.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 09:17 AM

They use a yahoo email address for the contact info.
Here is the screenshot-

Most of the entries are my attempts to make it work.
Top 3 lines are the original
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 10:06 AM

Before making any changes, what is under the Websites tab from that Lycos page.

Without seeing the websites page, my assumption is that your A records should be the DNS that 000 gave you to point Lycos to 000. Set up two A records. One with www as Value, one with nothing as Value. www is when someone types www.suzannesdanceschool.com, blank is for suzannesdanceschool.com. I believe Order is blank for A records.

You will also need to get 000's MX record settings since you're going to use their email servers. In the Order box use 10 for the first, 20 for the second if they give you more than one, and so on. This sets the order that email is routed. To 10 first, to 20 if 10 is unavailable etc. Value would be blank for MX.

Get rid of the rest.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 11:06 AM

WOOSH.
blush I think I understand, but it wouldn't let me do what you suggested.

I just got off live chat with Lycos.
They have made the changes and said the site should be active 4-8 hours.

Thanks so much for the support, Jim!
I'll let you know if it works…

Here is what it looks like now…


Here is the Websites page. That changed too.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 11:40 AM

Okay, an NS record. I just know more than enough to be really dangerous.

Make sure the email is working. I'm thinking that there should be MX settings too.

Glad you got it.
Posted by: KateSorensen

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 01:01 PM

.

Quote:
I just more than enough to be really dangerous.


I just more than old enough to be really dangerous.

I just say a lot more than enough to be really dangerous.


wink

.
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 01:24 PM

Originally Posted By: KateSorensen
.
Quote:
I just more than enough to be really dangerous.
I just more than old enough to be really dangerous.

I just say a lot more than enough to be really dangerous.
LOL, I meant know, but say fits too. grin
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 03:34 PM

Thanks again Jim,
I'll look into the email once the website is up.
3 day weekend coming up.
It can wait! grin
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/25/12 03:56 PM

"See" ya Tuesday.

A few fat filled meals and maybe an adult beverage or two later. grin
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/26/12 02:34 PM

Originally Posted By: Jim_
"See" ya Tuesday.

A few fat filled meals and maybe an adult beverage or two later. grin

Or, a few adult beverages and a fat filled meal or two later. laugh

I'm in the middle of digitizing "AJA" - Steely Dan (1977) right now. cool
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 05/28/12 11:44 AM

Still not working.
Lycos says it's their problem.
Wonderful…
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 06/05/12 09:44 AM

Well, Lycos has thrown in the towel.
Thousands of websites down, and no idea when or how to fix it.

Oh, how the mighty have fallen…

I'm going to check out Bluehost next.
Posted by: MacBozo

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 06/05/12 10:21 AM

When the MobileMe termination was originally announced, MacTech sent me an email about a Mac friendly web hosting provider. As I recall, it wasn't very expensive, but I discarded the email (I don't have a site that needs hosting), so I don't remember the name.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 06/05/12 10:40 AM

Well you're a lot of help!
grin wink laugh
Posted by: Jim_

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 06/05/12 01:22 PM

I use Network Solutions, you get what you pay for sometimes. I have also found NS to have the best spam filters. I have a dozen email addys from my domain I use for various purposes, info, billing, etc, for 15 years. I used to get all sorts of spam. I can count on one hand the spam I have received in the last month from all of them. steveg can vouch for the same. He switched recently and is very pleased. NS was the first registrar so they have it down pretty well.

When you host with NS they give the yearly registration free.

GoDaddy is a bit cheaper, reliable, and easy to work with, but the spam filters aren't near as good.

Make sure whoever you get offers phone support, many don't, email only which can be a pain if it's mission critical or an extensive problem. Dreamhost is one with no phone support.

From whois I noticed that the domain you're working with has its transfer status as locked. You're going to have to get in touch with them to unlock it to transfer to another registrar. Usually you get a secret code from them, Lycos in this case, to give to the new registrar so they can transfer it. It takes a few days to transfer when its locked, so plan ahead. You may be able to just get it unlocked too, but again that takes a few days.

One important note. DO NOT make any changes to the whois contact info, addresses, phone, etc or they make you wait 60 days before you can transfer. It's internet rules, not Lycos BTW.

Again, remember, you get what you pay for. Trying to save $60 a year or so for a business website doesn't seem logical to me. If it's making you money $60 is nothing.

If you go to NS let me know, we both get a little kickback BTW I think.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 06/05/12 02:02 PM

Thanks, Jim.
We manage a band named Groundation where I work, and use NS to sell merchandise on their website.
Suzanne's is just a little dance school in town and the site is mostly used as a calendar for upcoming events. NS might be overkill, but I'll ask the client and see what she says.
Posted by: Acumowchek

Re: MobileMe Domain Transfer - 06/13/12 09:35 AM

Well, that was an adventure.
Everything is now up and running on BlueHost.
Thanks for all the help.
BAD LYCOS! BAD DOG!