networking problem

Posted by: zenstate

networking problem - 10/09/05 03:44 AM

I have been networking 2 systems for months now with no issues but suddenly it doesn't work. its a mac mini and a G4 500 tower networked over a d-link standard 4 port broadband router.

nothing is wrong with any of the cables or any of the hardware. file sharing is turned on with both systems. I can access the mini from the tower but not the other way around. this seems so odd and I can't figure out the issue. when I click on the network icon it does nothing. shows nothing at all.. not even itself.

I am a tech savvy guy yet I am totally stumped here. any ideas are welcome.

thanks in advance.
Posted by: anil8tor

Re:networking problem - 10/09/05 04:05 AM

You might try renewing your DHCP wink
Or just re-boot your router if you havn't done this in a while, they seem to get "Bit rot" after a wile :P
Posted by: mordaskyt

Re:networking problem - 10/09/05 04:11 AM

I used to have this problem networking an OS9 box to an OSX box, but never X to X so to speak, is appltalk active on ethernet for both?
Posted by: Waragainstsleep

Re:networking problem - 10/09/05 05:18 AM

Can you use the Go command to connect instead of the network browser?
Open a terminal and ping the PowerMac (just type "ping 192.168.0.1" Insert the Towers IP as appropriate. Ctrl-C will stop the ping.

Re:networking problem - 10/09/05 06:24 AM

I got sick of trying things and failing so I just reinstalled Tiger and all is well. I don't use a crapload of apps anyway so setup is short.

odd problem. maybe its a tiger/panther networking issue. maybe I should take panther off the tower and install tiger. same versions tend to network better.

Re:networking problem - 10/09/05 06:52 AM

update:

now I am having the same problem again. after a reinstall it was fine again as I said in my last post. now its the same issue. I cannot even open the network folder. I double click it and nothing happens. I am ready to pull some hair out.