Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE #637585 02/19/16 08:22 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565

I never created an External HHD
(I'd only bought them ready to Plug N Play)

In spite of 2 days of research, I figured
since it was the only FW400 External Drive,
MASTER(SINGLE) would be the Jumper Setting.

but when I tried plugging it in, there are
NO Signs of Life - no Power/light indication
..and it don't show up in System Profiler
when I search System Profiler.
It also doesn't show as a DRIVE In DISK UTILITY

When I reattach my FW400 DVD Burner, it works.
The DVD Burner Does Show in Both DU & Profiler

QUESTION:
Doano if the issue is the JUMPER SETTING, since
the FW400 shows up as feeding off the INTERNAL BUS

so... Should I have chosen SLAVE???
Or did I install it incorrectly? Miss a connection
OR IF THE USED/PULLED DRIVE IS BAD

BTW:
Since the new(used) HDD is a recent acquistion
there's a limited window in which to TEST &
RETURN It for a refund ASAP. frown



____


Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Celandine] #637586 02/19/16 08:31 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
It should be Master. What make and model is the drive?

Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Celandine] #637587 02/19/16 08:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565

umm I also made the mistake of installing it
into the External Drive Enclosure without
double checking the FORMATTING... blush

I'd assumed being the model # ends with "A"
that it was naturally formally used in anApple Product...

I plead Stupidity.. crazy
I haven't installed a drive in years...
...I pretty much had to start learning again
on the fly from scratch



____


Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Celandine] #637588 02/19/16 08:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Originally Posted By: Celandine

umm I also made the mistake of installing it
into the External Drive Enclosure without
double checking the FORMATTING... blush
That doesn't matter, Mac can read anything, it should show up. It can be formatted also.

Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Reboot] #637589 02/19/16 08:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565
Originally Posted By: Reboot
It should be Master. What make and model is the drive?


Seagate/Barracuda 7200.10 SATA
3.0Gb/s 500-GB Hard Drive
ST3500630A E

ATA/IDE
16MB

I May be wrong about it being a SATA Drive..
..it has FIVE Rows of Jumper OPTIONS



____


Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Celandine] #637590 02/19/16 08:52 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
That's an IDE.


Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Celandine] #637591 02/19/16 08:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
For a single drive in a case it should be Master.

Re: Jumper Settings ATA/ IDE [Re: Reboot] #637594 02/19/16 09:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,565

That's what I chose..
guess it's time to crack-it-open
to see where I zigged instead of zagged

crazy



____



Moderated by  Acumowchek