Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Time Machine/Capsule #636812 01/20/16 10:43 AM
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7,406
lanovami Offline OP
This space for rent
OP Offline
This space for rent
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 7,406
So my old iMac from early 2007 or maybe late 2006 is still going, but I find myself increasingly on a much later iMac Pro that a friend gifted me some time back.

Anyway, I wanted to see if I could access my old iMac's files on Time Machine via Time Capsule on the Pro. I looked up how to do this, and it said control click on Time Machine in the Dock and it will give you a choice to of access other computers' disks that are backed up there. It did indeed show me two choices, the Pro and the old iMac. However, when I click on the iMac selection it just gives me the Pro's files. I tried to see if they were reversed, so I hit the Pros selection - and again I got the actual Pro's files - so they are not reversed.

I found a number of troubleshooting tips, but this was not among them that I found. Any advice would be appreciated.


We are what we repeatedly do - Aristotle
Re: Time Machine/Capsule [Re: lanovami] #636814 01/20/16 12:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
You should be able to access the Time Capsule through the sidebar in any Finder window. Click on the Time Capsule, you should see a folder that says Data, then inside there the disk images for the computers that have been backed up. Double-click the image to mount it on the desktop.

It may ask for a password when you click on Time Capsule in the sidebar, unless it's already in keychain, hopefully you know what that is.


Moderated by  Acumowchek