Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Windows 10 issue #633836 09/12/15 08:24 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
I (my wife) decided that my granddaughter should have a computer at her house that she couple use for her homework, etc. We got her a Windows 10 laptop.

Question: How do you get it to establish an internet connection over a wi-fi network? It connects just fine to my wi-fi network, but refuses to enable an internet connection.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: Windows 10 issue [Re: MacBozo] #633837 09/12/15 09:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,089
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,089
Reboot?

Router and computer.

I've had to go in and tell it to forget the network then re-establish sometimes.

Re: Windows 10 issue [Re: Reboot] #633872 09/14/15 01:18 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Thanks. I'll try that the he next time it is here. Why does Windows make it such a PITA?


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: Windows 10 issue [Re: MacBozo] #633903 09/14/15 07:12 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Also, when I did the initial setup, there was no problem with the internet connection on my wifi network.

Edit: I just tried using my iPhone's personal hotspot. It connected to the "wifi" network, but still no internet connection. They no longer have internet access at their house (where I am a at the moment). I'm just flummoxed that it was OK during the initial setup and successfully downloaded Office and McAfee AV. Could the McAfee suite be blocking it? I can't find a setting there.

Last edited by MacBozo; 09/14/15 08:07 PM.

[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Bizarro! [Re: MacBozo] #634221 09/22/15 04:14 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Got the laptop here, finally, to troubleshoot. Booted it up and it connected to my wifi network with an internet connection.

#headscratcher


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: Bizarro! [Re: MacBozo] #634233 09/22/15 05:06 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,089
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,089
Okay I could blame this on Windows but I've seen it on Mac laptops too. Sometimes rebooting the router helps. Something about going from one network to another confuses them. On Windows I go in and tell it to forget the network, on Macs delete the Wifi from Network prefs and re-add it.

Happens with phones too. The other day my sister called, (love being family tech support) they were on vacation and trying to connect to the wireless network. One iPhone wouldn't, so I had her reboot the router, all was well. Rebooting the phone didn't do it.

Re: Bizarro! [Re: Reboot] #634237 09/22/15 05:26 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
It may have gotten confused when it associated with their home wifi which no longer has internet access. I set it to forget that network the last time I was at their house.

Yes, I've had to reboot the dLink extender more often than I like.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot