Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs #631681 07/06/15 08:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
Is there such a thing as a KVM switch (Keyboard, video, mouse) to use one keyboard, video and mouse for two Macs?

Thanks


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13
Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631683 07/06/15 09:08 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Like this...

(made for Mac minis stacking)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...mp;gclsrc=aw.ds

Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631688 07/07/15 01:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
That IOGEAR is a clean mini setup, nice.

If you only need it for 2 computers, and I know you like to spend as little as possible. smile

Used from ebay, two port.

Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631727 07/08/15 02:28 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
I found a USB KVM that works for both Macs, but I cannot figure out how to get from one Mac to the other.

On a KVM for a PC, hitting the ScrLk twice then the down arrow changes from one PC to the other. But on the Mac keyboard, there is no ScrLk. Does anyone have experience with this problem?

I'm using the KVM with two Mini-Mac A1103 machines, one running OS X 10.4.11 and the other running OS X 10.5.8.

Thanks.

Last edited by papabill; 07/08/15 02:29 PM.

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13
Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631747 07/08/15 04:05 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,080
If we knew what model of KVM we might be able to help. You need to give us more detailed information in your posts.

Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631776 07/09/15 06:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
I'll see if I can figure it out. It's in pretty bad shape (very dirty) and the label is VERY messed up,


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13
Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631777 07/09/15 07:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
OK.. if it's USB and you have it hooked up to one Mac you can go into System Profiler... click "USB" on the right and see it listed in the devices. Should be able to glean some info that way.

Re: Keyboard,video,mouse for 2 Macs [Re: PapaBill] #631783 07/09/15 08:05 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
PapaBill Offline OP
Where's the cache?
OP Offline
Where's the cache?
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 364
Found it. Accidentally. There is a "loose" clear bar on the front of the main part, and when you click one side of it, it changes computers. Click the other side, and you get the OTHER computer. DOH!!


I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians 4:13

Moderated by  Acumowchek