Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
New Old iPhone #630060 05/23/15 06:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

Ted moshed his iPhone 3Gs screen pretty bad
and I couldn't get him to upgrade to 4Gs
until they were no longer available through AT&T

anyway..
I finally took it upon myself to get a new 3Gs
from our friends at eBay.

QUESTION:
Woduidoo now? crazy
Just swap out the SIM CARD?
or did I just let myself in for a weekend headache?



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630071 05/23/15 07:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,150
J
John Rougeux Offline
Member # -1
Offline
Member # -1
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,150
Well, try that first and see if it works. And then hook it up/sync to iTunes to see what happens.

If that doesn't work, just take it to the store (ATT? Verizon?) and let them insert it and activate it I think. Should be free to have them do it I believe.

Last edited by John Rougeux; 05/23/15 07:53 PM.
Re: New Old iPhone [Re: John Rougeux] #630075 05/23/15 08:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

OK, thanx.

So far it is having problems connecting to my in home Wifi
And I'm getting an error message when attempting
to connect it through iTunes app frown

I haven't tried fiddling with the SIMCARD yet
as it's in a tight fitting Case.

I doan even know where my local AT&T store is
in my new neighborhood.. I pay my bills online.



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630076 05/23/15 09:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

OK,
I swapped in the SIM Card
but I'm getting another error message from iTunes app
saying that there's No SIM CARD Installed. frown

QUESTION:
Does it make a difference that the original iPhone
was only 8GB and the new one is 32GB?



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630077 05/23/15 09:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

ah...
...and they are off-contract at this time?
We are still clients, and pay the bill every month
it's just that we didn't commit to a new 2 year contract.

our lives are very much up-in-the-air right now.



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630078 05/23/15 09:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Put the SIM card in it came with.

Reset the phone to factory.

http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/17/reset-iphone-factory-settings/

Dial 611 and see if ATT can set it up for you. I believe 611 will work even though it's not set up yet.

Also calling 611 from another phone they should be able to talk you through setting it up.

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630080 05/23/15 10:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
ARG! Sorry 'bout that...
...i was dumpt off-line
and had to jump thru hoops to get back here.

The NEW iPhone 3Gs 32GB didn't come with a SIM CARD
I finally took the one from my 8GB 3Gs...
...but when I put it in the 32GB Phone, iTunes
can't detect the SIM Card. frown and NOTHING Works

Shall I put it back into the 8GB Phone and
Back-Up & Factory Restore it & Restore Info
THEN Reinstall the Card into the New Phone and try again?

Or just take it to AT&T ASAP?



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630082 05/24/15 12:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

No Soap, Boss...

iTunes gave me another error message
this time that my OS, version of iTunes
AND my browser are so outdated it's not
possible to do a backup & restore. frown

So now I'm stuck with another useless iPhone?

life just keeps getting better



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630083 05/24/15 12:02 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Since it's the same kind of SIM card you shouldn't need to take the phone in. They should be able to make the changes over the phone.

Like I suggested, 611 them. Don't be afraid, they won't bite, but on a prime time Saturday night they may be hard to understand. smirk grin

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630086 05/24/15 01:20 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

Yeah..
I was taking the Memorial Day Weekend into account.

I'll give 'em Tuesday to sober-up
then get on their case first thing Wednesday morning.



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630088 05/24/15 01:58 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Might have luck early Sunday. And just like any other online service you can usually request to be transferred to a US call center if necessary.

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630117 05/25/15 05:17 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

RAT BASTID Sold Me A Defunct Phone! mad

j/k

well, half kidding:
The seller is a Windows re-furb/reseller;
prolly never checked the iPhone passed acknowledging
that it turned "ON".. so I'm giving him the benefit
of the doubt that it wasn't intentional.

The iPhone is defunct
(I did bring it to the AT&T store yesterday morning
on the way to our traditional Memorial Day Bar-B-Que)

It failed all their attempts to Activate too,
and I was advised to return it to e-Bay ASAP.
(I just contacted the seller to get an RFA#)

MEANWHILE...

The guyze @ AT&T took pity on us and UpDated
our iPhone(s)3Gs to iPhone(s)5s AND Account which
brought down the monthly cost by $40 per month...
...AND Tossed in TWO New LG Mini Tablets (ANDROID)

Judas Priest! Talk About "A LEARNING CURVE"!!! eek

Ted's in there SCREAMING @ Me about it being
"MY F'n FAULT" for trying to replace his busted phone frown
while I'm trying to locate & download & read PDFs


QUESTION:
ANDROID, huh?
What have I gotten myself into? crazy
...does this thing have the potential of becoming
A VIRUS TRAP? shocked

I've been blissfully using Apple products since 1989
without any consideration for Anti-Virus BS
since Norton 2.3 (..er sumsuch)



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630122 05/25/15 10:43 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

Ain't that a kick in the head?

In spite of my best efforts
my new iPhone5 can't connect
to my OLD iTunes app.

Despite multiple restarts of
the phone, iTunes & the G4

iTunes is unable to detect the new phone(s)
System Profiler sees it in my USB2 ATI Card,
but it doesn't appear on the DeskTop
so I can't even Eject It Safely.



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630124 05/25/15 11:54 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
You can eject it.

Unfortunately though...

http://lowendmac.com/vintage/12vmn/0914.html#1

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630127 05/26/15 12:40 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
NucleusG4 Offline
Master•Blaster
Offline
Master•Blaster
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 12,486
Never understood the switching sim cards thing. I thought we all went over that in here some time ago. Not necessary and creates more problem than it solves.
It's less about the data that is on it and more about the card ties you to the carrier.

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630130 05/26/15 01:07 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Online Content OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Online Content
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Originally Posted By: Reboot
You can eject it.

Unfortunately though...

http://lowendmac.com/vintage/12vmn/0914.html#1

I just pulled da' plug with no obvious ill effect
same as simply unplugging a phone from your charger.

Yeah, thanx
no use banging my head against the keyboard
we all knew I needed an new(er) computer.
the last links on your page may prove helpful
(if only my rich uncle would kick the bucket smirk )



____


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot