Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
New Old iPhone #630060 05/23/15 06:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

Ted moshed his iPhone 3Gs screen pretty bad
and I couldn't get him to upgrade to 4Gs
until they were no longer available through AT&T

anyway..
I finally took it upon myself to get a new 3Gs
from our friends at eBay.

QUESTION:
Woduidoo now? crazy
Just swap out the SIM CARD?
or did I just let myself in for a weekend headache?



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630071 05/23/15 07:52 PM
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,150
J
John Rougeux Offline
Member # -1
Offline
Member # -1
J
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,150
Well, try that first and see if it works. And then hook it up/sync to iTunes to see what happens.

If that doesn't work, just take it to the store (ATT? Verizon?) and let them insert it and activate it I think. Should be free to have them do it I believe.

Last edited by John Rougeux; 05/23/15 07:53 PM.
Re: New Old iPhone [Re: John Rougeux] #630075 05/23/15 08:40 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

OK, thanx.

So far it is having problems connecting to my in home Wifi
And I'm getting an error message when attempting
to connect it through iTunes app frown

I haven't tried fiddling with the SIMCARD yet
as it's in a tight fitting Case.

I doan even know where my local AT&T store is
in my new neighborhood.. I pay my bills online.



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630076 05/23/15 09:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

OK,
I swapped in the SIM Card
but I'm getting another error message from iTunes app
saying that there's No SIM CARD Installed. frown

QUESTION:
Does it make a difference that the original iPhone
was only 8GB and the new one is 32GB?



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630077 05/23/15 09:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

ah...
...and they are off-contract at this time?
We are still clients, and pay the bill every month
it's just that we didn't commit to a new 2 year contract.

our lives are very much up-in-the-air right now.



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630078 05/23/15 09:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Put the SIM card in it came with.

Reset the phone to factory.

http://osxdaily.com/2012/01/17/reset-iphone-factory-settings/

Dial 611 and see if ATT can set it up for you. I believe 611 will work even though it's not set up yet.

Also calling 611 from another phone they should be able to talk you through setting it up.

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630080 05/23/15 10:27 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
ARG! Sorry 'bout that...
...i was dumpt off-line
and had to jump thru hoops to get back here.

The NEW iPhone 3Gs 32GB didn't come with a SIM CARD
I finally took the one from my 8GB 3Gs...
...but when I put it in the 32GB Phone, iTunes
can't detect the SIM Card. frown and NOTHING Works

Shall I put it back into the 8GB Phone and
Back-Up & Factory Restore it & Restore Info
THEN Reinstall the Card into the New Phone and try again?

Or just take it to AT&T ASAP?



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630082 05/24/15 12:00 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

No Soap, Boss...

iTunes gave me another error message
this time that my OS, version of iTunes
AND my browser are so outdated it's not
possible to do a backup & restore. frown

So now I'm stuck with another useless iPhone?

life just keeps getting better



____


Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Celandine] #630083 05/24/15 12:02 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Reboot Offline
Muhahahaha
Offline
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,077
Since it's the same kind of SIM card you shouldn't need to take the phone in. They should be able to make the changes over the phone.

Like I suggested, 611 them. Don't be afraid, they won't bite, but on a prime time Saturday night they may be hard to understand. smirk grin

Re: New Old iPhone [Re: Reboot] #630086 05/24/15 01:20 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635
Celandine Offline OP
Madame Flutterbye
OP Offline
Madame Flutterbye
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 20,635

Yeah..
I was taking the Memorial Day Weekend into account.

I'll give 'em Tuesday to sober-up
then get on their case first thing Wednesday morning.



____


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot