Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OK, riddle me this #628330 03/10/15 10:46 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Recently, my cable internet access has been upgraded to 15 mbps download speed. My Mac connected to the router via ethernet gets 17 mbps. My iPhone gets close to 15 mbps when connected via wi-fi to the router's network and to the dLink access point/extender. My wife's Mac when connected to the router via wi-fi gets around 12 -13 mbps and is only getting around 7 - 8 mbps via the dLink. The signal is best from the dLink, though. What gives?


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: MacBozo] #628337 03/11/15 12:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Is the b wifi on in the router and/or the dlink? That would limit it to 10M max, if that's the way she happens to be connecting. If there is choice of b in either turn it off.

Are the routers dual band, 2.4 and 5 Ghz?

This isn't another case of smoke and mirrors is it? grin

Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: Reboot] #628345 03/11/15 12:58 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Not sure about b. Pretty sure it's off on the ASUS. I'll have to check the dLink when I get the time. Just thought it odd that my iPhone gets near optimal speed, but her Mac doesn't.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: MacBozo] #628350 03/11/15 03:07 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
2.4 Ghz goes through solid objects better than 5 Ghz. b is limited to 10M. g goes to 54 M.

One guess is that even though the dlink is the best signal if it's only getting 7-8 M it may be 2.4 Ghz or 5 Ghz b instead of g. Or it's closer is why the better signal, at either 2.4 or 5.

Your Asus is a weaker signal for her, but is faster you say. Could be weaker because it's 5 Ghz instead of 2.4, or it could be just farther away, and it's connecting at g instead of b.

Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: Reboot] #628362 03/11/15 09:03 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Both show as connecting as g. The dLink shows 54mbps, consistently. The ASUS is dual band and the 2.4GHz is the SSID we use since the connection via 5GHz is a only. I turned off b/g protection on the ASUS and couldn't find an option for b, g, or n on the dLink, however I believe it's g and n only.

I may have to reboot the dLink because, even though there are clients connected, it doesn't show them (nor does the ASUS).

Last edited by MacBozo; 03/11/15 09:05 PM.

[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: MacBozo] #628363 03/11/15 09:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Just checked the iPhone via all wi-fi networks:

1. dLink about 20ft away = 13.54 mbps
2. ASUS 2.4 GHz 2 ft away = 15.69 mbps
3. ASUS 5 GHz 2 ft away = 15.64 mbps
4. dLink about 5 ft away = 15.48 mbps

After I rebooted the dLink, connected clients now are listed.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: MacBozo] #628376 03/12/15 03:35 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Reboot Online Content
Muhahahaha
Online Content
Muhahahaha
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 15,090
Originally Posted By: MacBozo
Just checked the iPhone via all wi-fi networks:

1. dLink about 20ft away = 13.54 mbps
2. ASUS 2.4 GHz 2 ft away = 15.69 mbps
3. ASUS 5 GHz 2 ft away = 15.64 mbps
4. dLink about 5 ft away = 15.48 mbps

After I rebooted the dLink, connected clients now are listed.
Nothing like a reboot to clear things up.

Sorry, that never gets old. smirk

Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: Reboot] #628403 03/12/15 07:54 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
I still haven't had the time to check my wife's Mac, though. That was where the problem is.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: MacBozo] #628479 03/14/15 03:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
MacBozo Offline OP
Nut Dood
OP Offline
Nut Dood
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,709
Checked the wife's this morning.

Via the ASUS 25 - 30 feet away: 12.5 mbps
Via the dLink 15 feet away: 11.5 mbps

That's within reason, I guess. I'm still thinking the problems are primarily with her MacMini.


[Linked Image from dl.dropbox.com]
Re: OK, riddle me this [Re: Reboot] #631533 07/03/15 01:16 AM
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 522
ichi Offline
i'm going outside the graphics are amazing
Offline
i'm going outside the graphics are amazing
Joined: Dec 2007
Posts: 522
Originally Posted By: Reboot
Nothing like a reboot to clear things up.
Sorry, that never gets old. smirk


never did, never will.
hello, old man!

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Acumowchek, MacGizmo, Reboot